Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Forum Members

Hope you guys are well. I'm a newbie in the aquarium world and really need some help. I have had my beginners aquarium for 5 weeks now and have lost several fish which is really heartbreaking. I have done everything I can think of. I have the water temperature at 22 with a small heater. I test the water every week and it is as close to perfect readings as it could be. I feed the little guys daily about enough to last them 5 minutes. I have bought a top quality filter for the tank size. I have put sea shells in there and two small real plants (which they've eaten the leaves off). I originally had 2 black moors and 2 fantails. The black moors and the smaller fantail died within a week. I then bought 2 comets (silver ones) and the one died within a week. I then put in a normal gold comet. Just as the tank seemed to be settling. The remaining 3 swimming really happily my second comet died after 3 weeks in the tank. Please can anyone tell me what could be the matter. I've put medication in there in case of disease and still my second Comet died.
I'm really loving having the fish but feel a little cursed here. Any help would be much appreciated. I don't know the size of the tank exactly. It came as a starter pack and is about 2 feet long by a foot wide.

Thanks for your help and hope to post better news soon :)

·
Registered
143 Posts
First of all I want to say *w2 to the forum. Second, I'm sorry you're having a hard time and sorry about the fish. :( And third, Goldfish are coldwater fish so if your water is warm, that could be what's making them die.

My last guess, since goldfish are big waste producers, I would say that the fish are producing more waste then the bacteria can consume therefor returning to the tank, and killing the fish. *frown

·
Pleco n bn breeder n BOSS
7,685 Posts
Welcome to the site, and hope you can find the answers you need.