Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody, I'm new to this site and thought I'd start off with a classic newbie 'hello' post! I'm fairly new to keeping fish and I'm finding the web to be an excellent source of information on how to keep fish and maintain a healthy aquarium. I'm hoping that being a member of this forum will help me along my journey to being an 'expert aquarist'!

So, who am I? My name's Anthony and im 24 and live in Bristol in the UK. I've always had a little bit of an interest in fishkeeping as when I was growing up my dad had 4 large aquariums. Though these were nice tanks, they weren't really my kind of fish - he kept fancy and unusual fish; pirranhas, angel fish, siamese fighters, BIG oscars etc... These fish, although nice to look at and probably quite interesting, didn't excite me and as i think you'll see i prefer mainly smaller and faster moving fish - which I find amazing to watch scholling around, especially when (thanks to great internet advice) the different species get along and swim around together! I also have a strange love of shrimp! I can happily sit and watch the shrimp plodding around the tank exploring every rock, nook and crannie (as well as tearing various plants to shreds!) for hours!

In my aquarium;

3 Neon Tetra
3 Cardinal Tetra
3 White Cloud Mountain Minnows
2 Gold Barbs
2 Cherry Barbs
1 Zebra Danio
1 Bristlenose Plec
4 Yamato Shrimp

I think that's all I'm going to have in my tank for now as everything seems very settled and happy, though I am tempted to get some different species of shrimp - I've seen some quite fancy ones - red stripes / bumble bee / glass shrimp - that i think could make a very interesting addition to my set up.

I have added all of the fish into the tank a couple at a time since January this year, and apart from a few unfortunate casualties, it's been good.