Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I am brand new to the fish world and it did not start well at all. I guess I have a long story to tell and feel free to input any advice you have.

About 3 weeks ago I got a call from my 9 year old daughter. She had been visiting with her aunt and had gone to some kind of carnival with her. Low and behold she tells me she won 2 goldfish while playing a game. By the time she gets the fish home they have been swimming in their little baggies for over 36 hours. I ran to Walmart and got her a 5 gallon tank with all the toots and whistles that comes with a ready to go tank set. I also purchased the Aqua Safe w/bio extracts because something told me that tap water and fish wouldn't get along real well. Please keep in mind that I did not have time to research and the staff at Walmart don't know any more about fish than I do. What I should have purchased was Safe Start as well but in similar style bottles I thought it was the exact same stuff. Well, I followed the instructions and treated the water to remove the chlorine. I eventually added the fish and miraculously the fish did real well and even appeared to thrive. Then, after about 2 1/2 weeks we woke up and the happy little fishies were both dead. I had not done water changes because the instructions said that 25% water changes every 4 weeks was recommended. It never occurred to me that this could be completely off the mark.