Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
This is my first time on the forum. I am in need of some advice. I have been a fish hobbiest for years, but one thing I have never attempted is a planted aquarium. I don't have a great deal of money to do this. I just restored an older 40 gallon aquarium and stand. Based on what I have read, I do have some lighting that I think will do the job. What type of filtration system would you recommend? Also, and suggestions on types of substrate, plants, fish and fish density for a beginner in this area? Please keep in mind I am on a budget. Thanks for your help.
Kevin

·
Goodwill Ambassador
614 Posts
you might want to get some flourite for substrate...and it depends what type of fish you want...ive heard that cichlids arent good with live plants...but i would have to tell you to stock your tank with tiger barbs...

post what type of fish you want and well grow from there

Reactions: JIM

·
Pleco n bn breeder n BOSS
7,685 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

I wouldn't suggest the walstead method for beginners myself. If they aren't set up just right they can be a pain. But the plants do the filtering for you. Depending on the light wattage to the size of tank will tell you what kind of plants to keep. If it has high light you will need co2 and a good fert regime.

Plants will grow in just about any substrate that you choose, but you want them to thrive. Now if you go low light you would look into plants like java ferns and mosses. Anubia and crypts. They are basically slow growers and most don't need to be planted, just tied to a rock or a piece of wood.

·
Registered
57 Posts