Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new to the whole fishkeeping thing, and so far I like it. I bought a small 1.5g starter tank, that came with a bubblestone, and under-gravel filter, I bought some silk plants for my betta, and he's swimming happily.

I have a few questions though: I was reading about heaters, and my room is quite cold most of the time, I saw a 7.5 watt square-ish heating pad like thing, I was thinking would be perfect. Agree, disagree?

Also, I'm not sure that my 'under-gravel filter' is actually working? Should there be only a minimum of gravel on top of it? Somehow it's supposed to filter as the bubblestone is down at the bottom of the tube? I'm just confused as to how it's filtering.

Please let me know, I'm really hoping to get into the hobby, and I love it so far, I just want to make sure I can keep my betta healthy.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Welcome the the wonderful of fish keeping. The heat pad should be fine as long as it is designed to go in the water and has a built in thermostat to regulate the temperature. With regards to the gravel filter they do best with at least an inch of gravel over them. You will be unlikely to notice the flow of water through the gravel but it's ok it is happening as you will find when you stir it up to carry out a water change. Try and get some sand snails normally free from fish shops as they will help keep the gravel fresh and clean. Also bettas like plant so get some cabomba plant to float near the surface. Good luck with your tank and have fun
Neil
For help setting up and ideas see my blog www.bombina.co.uk

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey Thanks!

I do have lots of plants in there, little silk ones, he loves them so far (Swims in them constantly) but I seem to have a new problem, foam o_O