Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, im new to this hobby and im trying to start the nitrogen cycle in my first attempt at an aquarium. I decided to do it without fish because I didnt like the "hardy" fish the store told me I could use. I was recomended to use API Stress Zyme to start the cycle. I filled the tank with the recomended ammount of conditioner and Stress Zyme 4 days ago and its been fitering since then.

This might be a dumb question but how will I know when the Nitrogen cycle has started and its safe to put fish in? I only have these 5 in 1 testing strips that test for nitrate, nitrate, hardness, alkalinity and pH. Do I need something else? I really have no clue about any of this stuff and would appriciate anyones advice. Thanks.

·
Registered
134 Posts
Hi there! Welcome to the forum. I've got a tank cycling right now too.

Strips are notorious for being faulty. Invest in the API master test kit. It's expensive, but very worth it for accurate readings and it's a lot of fun to play with too.

Here's a really good article on fishless cycling and how to help it along:

Fishless Cycling - Article at The Age of Aquariums - Tropical Fish

To help it along, scavenger hunt for these items:

- Pure 10% diluted Ammonia. The stuff that has no surfactants, perfumes, or dyes in it. The way you can tell is to shake the bottle. If it looks like water and does NOT foam, it's the right stuff. Ammonia with surfactants in it foams up. Folks have had luck looking into Ace Hardware and Meijers.