Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am going am going 2 start breeding siamese fighting fish, i've never done this before i've read abit of info on the net about doing this but i was hoping sum1 here might either already breed them or have done in the past that might have some good advice for me before i start.

·
Registered
1,048 Posts
the best advise is to keep them seperated until you have primed them for breeding, alot of food. you can store the males in masion jars until the females are ready, add the male to your breeding tank and let him build a bubble nest and the female early evening and let nature take it course. There is a good article in aug 2008 tropical fish mag this month, still not finished reading it, all so there are a ton of web site to breeding betas. I know it easier to just do what other tell you but for me half the fun it find reading and studing.

·
fishboydanny
584 Posts
anyone know where to get true giant Bettas? It doesn't matter to me what fin type they are (though I prefer the longer fin varieties; half moon, doubletail, etc.) as long as they look nice! by the way, i stink at breeding bettas. never had them get along. either the female was unwilling, or another reason (once, I had a pair that I was trying to breed and the male was too dumb to know where to go once he had her attention; leading her all over the tank!), like the female attacking the male without actually hurting him!!! (he was hiding in a corner the next day with no physical damage. he never did flare up to his male neibor though.) I was just thinking that when I get a pond (who knows when) I'll have giant bettas in there! wouldn't that be cool!

·
fishboydanny
584 Posts