Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i tried giving my bettas small pieces of earthworm from our backyard. i cut it small enough for bettas mouth. i enjoyed doing this morning ang afternoon. i almost forgot giving them their flakes. would it be harmful for the bettas? im planning to breed them and im a newbie. hope to have some replies...

·
Banned
1,323 Posts
I do not think I would do that as the earthworms that you get from your yard are not run through the process of cleaning and disinfection that the ones are that you buy for feeding to fish. I would be afraid of contamination and/or disease processes being introduced into your tank. If you want to feed your fish actual food from a store get a small piece of liver from the grocery store or even some chicken livers and cut very small pieces of raw liver and allow the betta to have a couple small (half of his eye sized) pieces of it a couple times a week or so. But the bettas MAIN diet needs to be his bloodworms or pellets that are made for his consumption and not many of those. Remember that his stomach is the size of his eye and it is not to be overstuffed. Overfeeding of bettas, although done with the best of intentions, is one of the main causes of their death.

I have honestly had emergencies come up where I was not able to arrange for my fish to taken care of and been gone for 5 days with the fish getting no food for that length of time and they are fine. They really require very little food and can find microrganisms in the tank that we cannot even see to keep them fed for a time. I will say that I had some very clean tanks when I returned! They were very happy to see me but I only gave them enough to feed them one small meal. Discipline when feeding is so important in keeping your fish healthy.