Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
DIY "monster" project!

i've made something i wish to make in the near future. before the end of spring, or summer.

the design is simple. but i'm just asking the pros to help me build this since i have no experience making my own things.

i'm definitely going to make the tanks with drilled holes on the side for fish passageway. but i'm not sure on the size. although i want it big enough for 3 bettas(just an example) or a full grown pleco to freely swim through without any problems.
the design of the tank is not going to change, although the size of the tanks used might. since i already have a 20g tall, i'll purchase another one off CL, then decide what the middle tank size will be.

the stand might be DIY but i'm entirely not sure, since i've never attempted to build a stand to hold 3 fish tanks. or don't know how much wood(not sure what kind is used) it would take to support 3 tanks worth of gallons. anyone care to help me in this part?

the "canisters" are pretty much the place where i want my sump tanks, or DIY bucket sumps.

here is where i need more of your help. i'd like equal filtration within the 3 tanks. but i don't want to have 3 separate tanks(sumps) or buckets(DIY sumps). and i highly doubt i'll be able to find a 55g tank on CL(i have bad luck. been searching for a cheap one for a month now).
i'm not sure what kind of pvc piping will allow this to be done. so i'm asking you guys!

since i have no job(for now) i'll scurry and get one, to fund this project. but as of right now, i have roughly 200$ to dedicate to this project. so help me find the cheapest way available to make this happen!

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
Re: DIY "monster" project!

Dimensions of all 3 tanks:
  • 20g length = 16 inches.
  • 20g width = 24 inches.
  • 20g height = 12 inches.
  • 15g length = 12 inches.
  • 15g width = 24 inches.