Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Aspiring Aquarist
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would puffers do good in a 10 gal fw ? The answer is probably not but I am hopeful! I was thinking maybe a few of those. Any feedback is appreciated.

·
Registered
796 Posts
Most of the puffers sold in lfs's are sold as freshwater but as they grow require brackish water and you could put one in a 10 but more than that you are pushing it. they need hiding if you put 2 in and are aggressive so dont mix with other fish. thats basic rules which I dont follow, I go by live and learn. Try this link, it gives some info. Puffer Fish

Reactions: logansmomma1228

·
Registered
796 Posts
I was gonna mention them but not many lfs's stock them, I would love to find some for my self but I like to see my fish and pick them rather than order.

·
Registered
149 Posts
I had puffers a few years back. Not a particularly hardy fish and they need to have a varied diet. I was a novice at the time, so they didn't have a very good mortality rate.

·
Aspiring Aquarist
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yeah I really want to get them but maybe I should wait since I am a beginner. Thanks guys

·
Registered
149 Posts
Yeah I really want to get them but maybe I should wait since I am a beginner. Thanks guys
Good choice. One question, are you considering live plants? because if you are, I recommend a School of 6 or 7 harlequin rasbora as a first fish. They are tough and I find them to be very interesting compared to the usual tetras that most beginners start with. Also VERY non-aggressive unless they are spawning, and the height of their aggression is chasing females to get them to spawn :p

They are very interested in people viewing the tank and their spawning behavior is very fun to watch. Sadly, they aren't happy in a non planted tank.