Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new at the marine game (and when I say fairly, I mean very), but have had freshwater planted and non-planted for several years.

I've decided to give it a go, and see what trouble I can get myself into.

My question is about the lighting on a 47 gallon tall tank. It came with the lame 18 watt single tube fluorescent which I know won't do the job. I want to start out with some 'easy' corals such as Fox coral, or mushroom (I'm sure all you saltwater veterans are chuckling at my use of the word 'easy').

Should I go with some power compacts, or head straight for the MH? Or maybe a combo? What about Watt? As far as T5 tubes, I'm having a heck of a time trying to locate shorty tubes for my tank. We're talking 20 inches. Yeah.

Also, if any of you guys have recommendations as far as Noo! Don't use those corals! or maybe something like I used to have a tank just like that! here's what I did... I will take all the information I can get my soggy mitts on.

Thanks,
Kardon

·
Registered
943 Posts
What are the demensions of your tank, 20 inch 40 gallons doesnt sound rite to me but there are some odd ball size tanks out there. When you decide on your lighting PLEASE dont get the cheapest that you can because it will give you all kinds of problems and no good reason to buy lights twice, buy quality the FIRST time also the flow in your tank is JUST as important as lighting so dont skimp on that. I would suggest that you try to decide what you want your tank to look like a year down the road and build your tank for that type of setup, another words would you like to get in to SPS corals if so then get the proper PH's and lighting for them so you dont have to buy twice because this hobby is expensive enough without buying twice.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh, it's an odd ball all right. At 20x18x30, I'm more limited by surface area than volume.