Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hope you guys aren't fed up with requests for stocking suggestions, because I have one for you. What makes my request different is that I don't want to use a heater in my tank, which means my tank will be around room temperature.

Call me cheap, but I just don't feel like spending the 15 bucks on a heater and the subsequent power to run it at 50+ watts.

My house is kept at a temperature of 70 +/- 2 degrees Fahrenheit in the winter, and maybe slightly warmer in the summer. I would like a peaceful community tank with bottom feeders, schoolers, one or two other fish that just do their own thing and look cool, and maybe a few snails/ghost shrimp/crab or the like. I'm also looking for species that are fairly worry free as I'm far from an expert :). Also, as I hear that it's best to introduce fish into the tank over a period of weeks, which species should I start with? Can I add the schooling fish all at the same time?

What I have:
  • 20 gallon high with lid and 15w light
  • 10-30i tetra whisper
What I also have that might not be worth mentioning:
  • 3 fake plants and 7 walmart plant bulbs trying to grow
  • 1 decorative fake rock and a few smooth rocks
  • ugly looking red and blue gravel
  • a toddler who likes to communicate with the fish by occasionally beating on the glass
P.S. I don't really want any cichlids or goldfish... any kind of fish that is going to get too big. I'm also not much of a cory fan.

Thanks!

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
To be honest, my current dream aquarium would actually be the fish native to my area (Western Maryland). The problem is, bass and bluegill would easily outgrow my small tank. Also, when I do a native tank I'd like to have native decor as well. My current decor seems more well suited to "pet store type" fish.