Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm planning on getting a 55 gallon tank in the near future. I wanted to plan it to be a cichlid tank with Mbuna as my core, if that would work. Apart from Bolivian rams, I've never kept cichlids before. Though, it so happens that my tap water naturally has a PH of about 7.8 and very hard water. I was just wanting some advice on what direction to take it: substrate, decor, tank-mates.

I've read that they don't work well with plants, but I would really like to try some. If so, I'd like an idea on what kind, how hard they are, and what sort of substrate they'd need. I'd like to go with sand, but I've never used it before (not even really sure how to gravel vac it.)

I'm also wondering about what kinds of Mbuna go together and what sort of tank mates to go with. I was wanting a good contrast of color, but particularly strong in blues and perhaps greens (if there are any). I'm also wondering about other cichlids and non-cichlids that could go with it. I've heard some catfish work with them. Would a Pictus work? If not, I'm open to other suggestions. Just wanting an idea. Also, do ANY invertebrates work with them? I dearly love shrimp.

I've also heard they're fond of very rocky tanks, I was wondering what sorts I could get, how I should arrange them and whether I could obtain them locally. I live in Kansas (lots of limestone) and have access to rural areas.

Sorry for how long this is and the number of question. I just wanna plan this out well.

·
New Member Manager
689 Posts
cool to see that you have a 55g tank with african cichlids soon going in it. in fact, i just set up a 55g mbuna cichlid tank myself about 2 months ago or so.