Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have a 29 gallon aquarium that recently came back into my possession. I have decided that I am going to set the aquarium up, but unfortunately the only usable part I was given back was the aquarium itself.

I would like to have a cover to reduce the evaporation rate, but am having trouble finding anything relatively cheap. I also want a light for plants, so the light will either have to be separate or incorporated into the cover. For those who are reading this, what are the cheapest covers you've come across?

I am also considering making my own cover out of glass, since I have a large pane of glass that was left in my house by the previous owners. The downsides to making my own are numerous:

1.The pane itself is very thick and heavy. Even after cutting it to the appropriate size, it may still be rather heavy.
2.I would have to purchase cutting tools.
3.I have no experience cutting glass.
4.I would have to purchase some kind of canopy light (which probably isn't cheap either).​

Does anyone have experience with making a cover out of glass? Is it the cheapest way to go?

*thumbsup thanx

·
Banned
3,683 Posts
what I use on my 20g long is an egg crate (1/4" square grid lighting diffusers) cut to shape and three round clip on reflectors with spiral (pig tail) 6500k lights. Just rest the reflectors on the egg crate.

my .02

·
Registered
2,608 Posts
That's what I was going to say but the evaporation issue will not be addressed. Anyway....egg crate is definately a good DIY project. Otherwise, if your handy in woodworking, you can make a nice canopy.

·
Banned
3,683 Posts
That's what I was going to say but the evaporation issue will not be addressed. Anyway....egg crate is definately a good DIY project. Otherwise, if your handy in woodworking, you can make a nice canopy.
actually you may want to do a canopy to hide the "ugly" clip on lights anyway.

*n1

·
Registered