Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
796 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 20 gallon long planted tank with no filter, other fish are thriving in this tank and my question would be-- could GBR's survive in this setup? I've had them before and they did great for me, but this setup has no current or filtration of any sort. BEASLBOB if you see this thread I would appreciate your .02*c/p*

·
Fish CrAzY!!
197 Posts
Hmmm possibly, but I'm no expert on planted tanks or filtration. If you were to do that you would need much less fish than if you were to have a filter. How many fish are currently in there?

·
Registered
796 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
currently there are a male and female betta(which I have kept with rams before), 2 little(less than an inch) pencil fish, and 2 tiny feeder guppies which will be gone soon and 2 Flagfish around an inch.
Pencilfish

Flagfish

Male Betta

Female Betta

·
Registered
796 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I appreciate the feedback, however i'm not real concerned with the overstock issue in this tank at the moment. I go according to the fish not the "rules" of stocking. I have seen some tanks this size with a heck of alot more fish than I've got here and those tanks were running way longer, my question was not about stocking it was whether or not the rams can be in this type of tank or not? I have had them in a normal setup and had no issues with them but not sure about this. I dont mean to come off any type of way its just if I and everyone went according to the "rules" we would not have a chance to enjoy what we do. I personally always go with the experience of trying versus the "rules" of the hobby. At any given moment in my tank there is %90 untouched space and 9 out of 10 times you look at this tank you wonder why there is an empty tank setup.

·
Pleco n bn breeder n BOSS
7,685 Posts