Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
First off, I'm new to the game and looking forward to setting up my first nanoreef. I've read everything I could get my hands on over the past 3 months and decided that a biocube is my best option for space/price/wants, etc.

Anyways, my LFS was having a sale yesterday and I was able to pick up my 29 gallon biocube for under $300 (stand not included).

Now, I'm researching possible upgrades to lighting and see that Oceanic has just released a new version of the Biocube - the HQI with a 150W MH. I posted the description below. I've found this system online for $499.

Do you think it's worth returning my biocube for this one? And, yes I would like to try my hand at corals and an anemone, so maybe the stock lighting in original biocube wouldn't be enough?

Thank you!

Description:
The Oceanic Systems BioCube 29 Gallon Aquarium w/ HQI Lighting takes the BioCube to a new level. The 150W HQI light, integrated protein skimmer and built in refugium chamber create a perfect environment for a thriving coral reef with a broad variety of organisms including small polyp stony (SPS) corals and Tridacna clams.

BioCube 29 Gallon w/ HQI Lighting Includes:

* Additional Photos
* User Manual (new window)
* Lighting system: 150 Watt, 14,000K, double-ended metal halide
* Cooling Fan: 388 mm 4,000 RPM
* UL listed 243 gph submersible pump with adjustable discharge nozzle
* Filtration: BioCube Protein Skimmer & Filter Pad
* Refugium w/ Refugium Light Window (Refugium Light not included)
* 20" Long X 20.75" Wide X 19.25" High

Recommended Accessories:
* Stand for the BioCube 29 Gallon Aquarium
BioCube 5 Watt UV Sterilizer
BioCube Protein Skimmer

·
Registered
1,770 Posts