Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It was suggested I post them from "Member Introductions, Social Announcements & Good Wishes" to a different forum. Please feel free to let me know if this isn't the appropriate board, I'm new here. :eek:

Hi, I'm new to the hobby. I have a 55-gal tank that I'm in the process of fishless cycling. I don't know if it's best to ask a question here or elsewhere. Anyhow, my better half and I are having a discussion about the type of aquarium to set up. She's talking about the peacefulness of angels and I was thinking more on the line of more active fish like tigers. (Actually the aquarium is in the room that I tend to be in a lot more than she is, but she seems to win a lot of our discussions.

I do know I'd like to get some dwarf neon rainbowfish and probably some corries. My questions are mostly about substrate. I'm thinking about having live plants, so with live plants and corries what would be the best substrate to use? I went with the suggestion of the LFS and have smooth, smaller gravel in it right now. I'd be more than happy to change, particularly as I'm just beginning. I also read an article that was talking about loachs and they suggested using sand in the front and gravel in the back so encourage the loaches to be more visible. Is this possible? Would plants stay anchored better in gravel than in sand?

Sorry about all of the questions, and thanks for having this site and the warm welcome I already got from the email when I registered.

PKSD

·
Registered
306 Posts
You will have to use sand, laterite, florite for plants, I have one tank with that then gravel on top and one that has just the sand, laterite, and florite. It is your choice.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the advice. I'm rather torn which I think looks better. So the sand can hold the plants ok? And the gravel doesn't affect corys?

·
Fishaholic
35 Posts