Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all- this is my first post here.

I am new to this hobby, and I have a few questions. I have a 30 gal freshwater setup w/ 3 mollies, 1(big and still quickly growing) angelfish, 1 rainbow shark, 2 silver dollars, 1 guarami, and 1 red wag tail platy.

My question is concerning the water chemistry. The ammonia level is good, so are the nitrites and nitrates. The problem is my water is VERY soft, alkalinity is high, and my PH is a little high. All of my attempts to lower the PH have obviously failed.

How can I remedy this little problem? I've had the aquarium with the fish in it for a little over a month. Thanks!

·
Registered
2,257 Posts
if its alkaline and a high ph the water is hard, not soft. soft water is low in Ph and acidic.

Seachem makes a product called neutral regulator however a piece of Driftwood can lower your ph and the alkalinity naturally and slowly where the fish adjust.

I am concerned with the rainbow shark, I had one and it was mean, my buddy has a red tail now and its killing off his tiger barbs left and right. They are a territorially aggressive fish that might pose problems with the slower moving fish with bigger fins.

what are your exact parameters and filter(s)?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have test strips that show each independently-Alkalinity, water soft/hard, and ph, so thats what my first post is based on. I will look into the driftwood idea.

I have not seen many signs of aggression from my rainbow shark. He usually keeps to himself. He likes to eat what little algae I have on the decorations I have in my tank, and keep it clean. I don't know if that is a characteristic of that species of fish in particular, or if he just doesn't like the food I feed my fish, although he does eat the tropical flakes and frozen bloodworms.