Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm fairly new to aquarium planting and I just bought some aqua ferns and some unknown plants at Petco for my tank. In addition to adding some sneaky snails to my tank, I've also just done some research and found out from plantgeek.net that the fern is not a true aquarium plant and will slowly rot and die in my tank. Is this true? And if so, the why the hell do they have tanks of this stuff at Petco for SALE?!

·
Queen Platy
932 Posts
So I'm fairly new to aquarium planting and I just bought some aqua ferns and some unknown plants at Petco for my tank. In addition to adding some sneaky snails to my tank, I've also just done some research and found out from plantgeek.net that the fern is not a true aquarium plant and will slowly rot and die in my tank. Is this true? And if so, the why the hell do they have tanks of this stuff at Petco for SALE?!
Petco and Petsmart doesnt get to pick out which plants to choose from. When they recieve shipments, they recieve a bundle of plants at once whether or not they are aquatic plants or not. We all dealt with the same thing once. Its better to just plant your aqua fern in a pot with soil instead of in your aquarium. Or better yet, return it and get something else. They have some nice swords and anubias nana's for sale there.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hmmm I see. Well I'm not sure if they have a return policy, but I will try. Thanks for the reply. Do you know of any ferns that are true aquatic plants?

·
Queen Platy
932 Posts
There are 2 plants that I can think of that look like ferns and its the Water Sprite and Wisteria. You can look into those. They are quite easy to grow too. Also fast growers.

·
Aqua Addict
292 Posts