Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Banned
1,148 Posts
I have a friend who had a 55 that he put a bunch of Java Moss in and just let it go, finally really took over and added a few cherrys, wound up with a BUNCH. In your case what concerns me is you said community tank, by that ill assume several different species of fish, what kind and how large, ?? those cherrys may be on tonites menu :)

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Mostly tetras but I do have a baby angel... to small to really much of a threat for now. I might have already lost them. I put 3 in, they took off, and that's that. LOL

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hi, I'm new to shrimp. Just wondering if it is okay to mix Glows and Bloodfins (tetras) together with Cherry Shrimp? Also, if they breed, will the tetras eat the shrimpspawn?

·
Aqua Addict
292 Posts
I have cherrys with neons, lemon tetras, platys, mollys, a dojo loach, and a betta. If the shrimp are bigger than the fishes mouth, you are good. The betta and loach even leaves the baby shrimp alone.

·
Registered
2 Posts
I have cherrys with neons, lemon tetras, platys, mollys, a dojo loach, and a betta. If the shrimp are bigger than the fishes mouth, you are good. The betta and loach even leaves the baby shrimp alone.
Thanks! That really gives me an idea of what I can mix with Cherrys. I am about to get a 250 gallon tank from my fiancee's parents (their Water Dragon recently died and I'm gonna clean that out and make a really nice aquatic setup). I'm thinking about doing a massive planted setup with large numbers of very small shoaling fish and lots (maybe 20 or more) of Cherry shrimp as well as other fish to balance out the micro-ecosystem. Any ideas on which species? (I know that the Bloodfins are really neat when in large groups)

·
Registered
756 Posts