Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am new to the reef aquarium this is my first tank. i have a 29 gallon bio cube i am using the stock filter and i added a uv sterilizer which helped me clear up the tank, but my question is i have alot of algea in the tank on the sand and onn the rock i was going to go out to the store and buy some snails and hermit crabs to see if that would help eliminate some of my problems but if anyone had any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated thanks

·
Registered
1,770 Posts
Welcome to the site!
if the algae is bright pink/purple/orange, than it is ok and it is a sign your tank is in good condition. if it is a dull green/brown/red, it is a sign your tank has too much nutrients. the UV sterilizer should help, and so will the snails, and getting a small protein skimmer will also help remove nutrients and dissolved organics.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ok thanks i have a protien skimmer with the bio cube but forgive me for the newbe quetion but how do i know the potien skimmer is working correctly i set it up the way the directions said i was just curious

·
Registered
278 Posts
Are you getting some foam and some dark looking gunk collecting in the cup? If so its working.

The snails and hermits will definitely help you out for sure. A sea hair might not be a bad idea either since you are apparently over ran with algae at this point.

A picture of the algae (good clear close up) or a very accurate discription of the algae you have would also be helpful as well. Hair alge can easily be delt with. If its Bryopsis, then thats a whole differnt story altogether. There really aint nothing that eats this crap on a consistent basis.