Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to african cichlids, I have a pair of red peacocks, but Im looking for something a bit more aggressive. Any suggestions?

·
fishboydanny
584 Posts
kennyi are the most aggressive african cichlid I have, males are yellow, females blue with black bars. do not keep two males together, sometimes though, you can keep males together if they grew up together in a large tank. if you want more info, just let me know...

·
fishboydanny
584 Posts
my dominant venustus is noticably larger than my dominant kennyi, but the kennyi is so aggressive, the venustus vurtually leaps out of the tank if he is even chased. Kennyi vs. venustus, kennyi takes the cake every time. (unless the venustus can eat the kennyi...)

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanks for replies guys, sounds like the Kennyi is a great fish to keep. How are they breeding?

·
fishboydanny
584 Posts
The kennyi tends to be one of the first in the tank to hybridize with other species, in fact, my dominant male has bred with my female red zebra cichlid about 4 times! I saved one brood, and they are about an inch long. some are orange, and when the sun hits them, they shine blue stipes. the others look like baby kennyi, but are dark navy blue, without iridescents.