Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I'm new to the aquarium world. I am think of getting a small 10g tank. I just want 2 maybe three fish in a salt-water tank. I don't want any live rock or invertebraes. I have had freshwater tanks in the past (long time ago). Is the basic equipment (heater, filter, lighting) any different for saltwater?

I know I need a salt-water mix and substrate, but what else is required to keep the tank?

Any and all advice will be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,770 Posts
welcome to the site! that small of a tank will be EXTREMELY difficult to maintain if u are a SW beginner! no live rock or inverts that makes it even MORE difficult. if u are a SW beginner, no smaller than a 29 gallon WITH live rock, 55 gallon WITHOUT live rock. u will find out that the chemical balance will be unstable and u can only have 2 very small fish as a maximum.

Reactions: malachi

·
Registered
29 Posts
welcome to the site! that small of a tank will be EXTREMELY difficult to maintain if u are a SW beginner! no live rock or inverts that makes it even MORE difficult. if u are a SW beginner, no smaller than a 29 gallon WITH live rock, 55 gallon WITHOUT live rock. u will find out that the chemical balance will be unstable and u can only have 2 very small fish as a maximum.

1++++++++++++++++++++

·
Registered
190 Posts
I dont think you should start a SW tank thats only 10g with out LR. It will be almost impossible to have bilogical filtration in the tank, especially since its so small, can you not get LR for some reason or just dont want it, but you really need some.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Well i disagree!You can have a 10 gallon fish only tank.Get a decent filter,Make sure your salinity is correct and with a normal light you will not have any trouble.As long as you make sure to cycle the tank first and then do bi weekly water changes you will be fine.Just do not overload the tank with fish!

·
Registered
187 Posts