Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I originally posted this in the introductions section. I haven't really gotten any useful information. Probably because I am impactient. Maybe I will have better luck here!

Hello all,
I am totally new to the fish keeping world. It definitely appeals to the scientist in me. I got a 20 gal high tank for christmas. Actually 1 week before from my boyfriend. I cycled it and now have what seem to be happy fish. I have already learned a few lessons. Never take the shop keepers word (or lack there of). Patience is key, and always do lots of research before bringing a fish home. I started with a betta and LOVE him. I must say I already want a bigger tank. I think I will give it a while though. At the moment I have:
3 Emerald Cory Cats
2 Opaline Gouramis
2 Sunburst Gouramis
1 Horse faced loach
1 Knight Goby
1 Bush nose pleco
1 baby fancy guppy (accidentally came with another fish)

I have a few concerns. After reading up on my Goby I have found that he is a brackish creature. Apparently this is an issue many other people have run into. Is there anyway to make him more comfortable. I have been looking through a lot of fish forums and there are some who do keep them in all freshwater. Is this cruel? He is thus far my favorite and most interesting fish.

Whats the deal with aquarium salt? Is it good for every tank?

I have Very soft water. It tests at 0. Is there any way to up this?

Thanks for any input!

·
Registered
54 Posts
I think some folks keep a bit of salt in their freshwater tanks, but I don't think that would mix if you have live plants. Sorry, you'll have to wait for someone more experienced than I.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Toad,
I do have fresh water plants although I'm not sure what kind. I was so excited when I bought them that I forgot to write down the names, oops.

·
Aqua Addict
292 Posts