Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am new to planted tanks but, not new to freshwater setups. I just ordered a 50 gallon aquarium 36L x 15D x 20H to try my hand with real plants. I have a few questions and I hope I can get a few very candid responses here. I really would like to approach it initially from a low tech, low investment, and low care approach if possible. I really am at a position where I want to get my feet wet and upgrade as I learn.

Is sand and Flourite a good choice for substrate? A few posts tell me I can't really go wrong here.

I have a Magnum 350 canister lying around as well as a penguin 200 bio wheel. What filter is better for plants? A little reading tells me that the magnum is because it doesn't disrupt the surface.

I need to buy bulbs and would be open to buying a T5HO setup or other lighting if necessary. I am building my own stand and canopy so I can make just about anything fit. Any suggestions on lighting?

I have also read until my head hurts about specific plants. I understand there are quite a few that do well with minimal care and a little extra light. (Dwarf Hairgrass / Willow & Java Moss / Anubias / Crypt) There are others but, you get the idea. I used this page as one reference Aquarium Plants Photos & Profiles at the Age of Aquariums - Tropical Fish
Is this really the case or am I not to believe the hype?

Thanks for any input or guidance... There is so much conflicting information out there and the more I read the more I am questioning.

·
Goodwill Ambassador
614 Posts