Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This has been a bit of a roller coaster but I’m finally putting some pieces together. All the specs on my tank are in my bio but I’ll repeat some of them here that I think might have to do with my issue.

1. I converted to a biological filter about 6 months ago and didn’t think much about the switch. In my near decade of keeping 10-25gl aquariums I have always used carbon, hang-on-the-back filters because that’s all that was available at my local store.
2. I don’t have a quarantine tank, never have had one, so I haven’t quarantined new fish In the past (emphasis on in the past. I’ve been doing fine for 10 years without one but I’m starting to learn my lesson. I’m working on setting up a cycling a 10gl x,D)
3. I live on a well. Years and years ago I would treat the all water I put into the tank until I realized my water didn’t contain chlorine or any other harmful chemicals and the fish seemed happier without my weekly meddling in the chem levels so it’s been ages since I was concerned with it.
4. The water has an odd mildew smell. I’ve been concerned about the smell for months, thought is was my live plants and removed them for a few weeks. That didn’t do anything so I turned my heater down a little and that also didn’t change anything. I still don’t know what the smell is. But the plants went back in and I set my heater back up to 76f.

Now for the issue: About a month or two ago I got two molly’s and a platy and added them to my tank. At the time it only had three 4yro skirt tetras, a 2yro danio, five or so guppies that had been donated to the pet store that I had nursed to health, and my magical 5 year old dwarf pleco (who is somehow living through all of this😂)