Aquarium Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

· Registered
20 gallon tank with driftwood and some plastic plants
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a 20 gallon tank for Christmas, I've been doing research on how to get started and what fish to get. I like the yellow lab cichlids,but I've heard they are to big for a 20 gallon tank, is that correct. If correct, I'm looking at getting some dwarf gouramis and maybe some platys,are they good tank mates or any other suggestions. My background is black and I was looking for some color. Thanks for any advice.

· MOD
9,081 Posts
Welcome! Yes labs will get to big. Make sure to cycle your tank first. It will save a lot of headaches. What is your ph out of tap, that will help on what fish to get. Get yourself a liquid test kit because you will need to keep an eye on ammonia, nitrites and nitrates.
Read this a few times

· Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome! Yes labs will get to big. Make sure to cycle your tank first. It will save a lot of headaches. What is your ph out of tap, that will help on what fish to get. Get yourself a liquid test kit because you will need to keep an eye on ammonia, nitrites and nitrates.
Read this a few times
thanks for your quick reply and advice. I dont have any water in it yet. I also haven't checked my ph out of my tap either. and i will definitely cycle my tank first, i will get a water test kit too. do test kits have a way to test ph? thanks so much!!

· Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Read this a few times
Yes they do
Thank you so much!!

· Registered
701 Posts
Welcome. :)
I'd recommend some dwarf cichlids if you are looking for color.
I like the color on dwarf Gourami's to.
You might get away with a pair of Apisto's in a 20 gallon, they get about 3 inches most of them.
Have fun!

· Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Welcome. :)
I'd recommend some dwarf cichlids if you are looking for color.
I like the color on dwarf Gourami's to.