Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Haris
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

This is my first time setting up a tank and I researched a lot about it on the net, also I went to some aquarium stores to get feedback. Right now I am thinking about what kind of filters should I use (after filling up my tank of course) for the 180g aquarium I have. I read somewhere about a guy who was using 2 Aquaclear 110's for his 125 gallon tank and said the water was crystal clear. Would 2 Aquaclear 110's be good for my 180 gallon tank or should I get 3 of them?

I am a bit low on cash so I would like any other advice on how to get cheaper filters if there are any and would perform as good.

Also I had some questions about the gravel I should put in:
1) What kind of gravel should I use?
2) I calculated that I might need 175 - 200 lbs of gravel...Not sure if that's right, my tank's base is 7ft x 2 ft.
3) The gravel I saw in the aquarium shop costs a lot, any advice on getting cheaper ones?

Thanks a lot all!

·
Registered
232 Posts
I have one of them on a 75G tank that is crystal clear and two of them on my 120G tank that is not as clear. I do have driftwood in the tank so I am assuming this is the reason. I would think they are NOT enough for a tank that size. I assume since you have a tank that big that you are going to have some larger fish in there.

·
Registered
60 Posts
I have 3 of them on my 180.

As for your gravel you need 1lb per gallon - you can get 25lb bags from Petco (the LFS near me only sells the 5lb bags).

·
Queen Platy
932 Posts
If i had a big tank like that, Id be going for cannisters and not Hang-on-back filters.

·
Registered
2,257 Posts
I have a 210 with a aquapro 300 AND an eheim pro 3 2080.