Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
New Member Manager
689 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time using the salt-water section of the forum, so go easy on me guys. *#3

OK! Currently, I only do fresh water set-ups, but I am looking to expand more into saltwater. I have an empty 2.5g tank, and I want to try to make it a salt water tank; just to get my feet wet into salt-water aquariums.

The thing is this,- I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT SALT WATER AQUARIUMS. What could I put in the 2.5g tank? What equiptment will I need? What fish/corals could I stock it with? What are the similaraties and differences between fresh water aquariums, and salt water aquariums?

Please, I need all of your help.

THANKYOU IN ADVANCE!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

·
Banned
1,148 Posts
Im no saltwater expert either (they will be along shortly) But im thinkin as much rock as you can jam in there, and a couple of small fish that stay that way. Maybe Tobacco basslets.

·
Premium Member
3,108 Posts
A lot of the filters are actually the same, although you can add some more to saltwater. Whatever works on fresh will work on salt, for the most part. Although most salt systems will also have a protein skimmer. The biggest concern now for your tank will not only be the filter, but you really need to stay on top of evaporation, as the salinity can swing drastically in a tank that size. When water evaporates, whats left gets saltier, till you top off with fresh water, of course.
What lighting do you plan to put on the tank? Something full spectrum and fairly bright?
I would consider a chunk of live rock with some brown or yellow polyps and maybe a green chromis or two. That will get you started and the hang of things, then you can venture to more delicate stuff. Best wishes with your new tank, will be a lot of enjoyment once you get it all right.

·
Aquarium Fanatic
1,267 Posts