The Fishless Cycle - Page 2 - Aquarium Forum
New To The Freshwater Aquarium Hobby This forum is a friendly place for all the people that are new to the freshwater hobby to post their questions. This section makes it quick and easy to find useful information for beginners and get answers to your questions. Please don't be shy and post a thread with your thoughts. Our friendly community will promptly reply and give you advice, and if you have your setting enabled, you'll get an email when someone responds to your thread. Click the link to get started.

  Members currently in the chatroom: 0
Who's Online
The most chatters online in one day was 17, 09-12-2012.
No one is currently using the chat.

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #21 of 83 (permalink) Old 06-09-2011, 01:41 PM
Pleco n bn breeder n BOSS
Super Moderator
 
susankat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tulsa, Ok
Posts: 7,685
Thanks: 2,663
Thanked 3,519 Times in 2,660 Posts
Welcomes: 6,466
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Hey guys, I am gonna sticky this thread.

SUCCESS IS MEASURED BY YEARS, NOT MONTHS!!!
220 Tank build + 62 other tanks.
https://www.aquariumforum.com/f15/sta...late-3253.html
susankat is offline  
Said thanks:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 83 (permalink) Old 06-09-2011, 02:41 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,683
Thanks: 34
Thanked 923 Times in 843 Posts
Welcomes: 370
Welcomed 12 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Quote:
Originally Posted by susankat View Post
Hey guys, I am gonna sticky this thread.
ouch!!!!!!!



actually good deal. even if I do get and new tail.
beaslbob is offline  
post #23 of 83 (permalink) Old 06-09-2011, 03:01 PM
Pleco n bn breeder n BOSS
Super Moderator
 
susankat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tulsa, Ok
Posts: 7,685
Thanks: 2,663
Thanked 3,519 Times in 2,660 Posts
Welcomes: 6,466
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Thought you needed a new tail Bob!

SUCCESS IS MEASURED BY YEARS, NOT MONTHS!!!
220 Tank build + 62 other tanks.
https://www.aquariumforum.com/f15/sta...late-3253.html
susankat is offline  
 
post #24 of 83 (permalink) Old 07-08-2011, 11:35 PM
 
sondre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Essex,UK
Posts: 185
Thanks: 71
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Welcomes: 26
Welcomed 25 Times in 1 Post
Send a message via Skype™ to sondre
Question Re: The Fishless Cycle

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtbob View Post
The Fishless Cycle

At some point your nitrites will peak at around 5ppm. At this time I recommend cutting your ammonia dosage by 50% and reduce the frequency of dosing to every other day. Monitor the ammonia levels closely! To high of a level may stall the cycle and prevent the colonization of bacteria. When nitrites begin to decline begin testing for nitrates. When nitrates begin to register you are getting close to completion. Continue to dose ammonia at the reduced level and monitor closely.

.
Can anyone help me with this please ?

I started getting nitrite at 5.0ppm right from the first time i added ammonia , i did test my tap water , but its 0 .

And nitrate is at 10-20 ppm .

Should i lower ammonia doses then ? i only started adding ammonia 6 days ago .

on the 7th july, i added 2.5 ml of ammonia,2 hours later test showed 8ppm .

yesterday i tested again,and it showed ammonia at 0 ppm (within 24 hours!)
So i added 1.25 ml (half dose) ammonia yesterday evening and 7 hours later test shows ammonia 0.5 ppm , nitrite 5.0 ppm .

The tank is planted , but not planted enough to do silent cycle , and i use API liquid test kit.

What should i do ? should i add ammonia every day ? or every other day and wait for nitrites to drop to 0 ?
sondre is offline  
post #25 of 83 (permalink) Old 07-09-2011, 05:30 PM
Dude.... wait..... what?
 
holly12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,080
Thanks: 701
Thanked 557 Times in 541 Posts
Welcomes: 828
Welcomed 12 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Maybe try one more day with adding ammonia - just to be sure it wasn't some weird fluke. If it drops as fast as it has been doing within 24 hours, then just do it every 2 or 3 days and wait for the Nitrites to drop. Your Nitrates will spike when the Nitrites start to drop.

You're lucky! Sounds like your cycle is almost done and you just started! I'm going to be going into week 7 of mine on Monday!!!!! And I still can't get the ammonia to drop past 1ppm or the Nitrites past 1ppm!!! Grrrr!

20g and 36g Heavily Planted

holly12 is offline  
post #26 of 83 (permalink) Old 07-09-2011, 11:32 PM
 
sondre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Essex,UK
Posts: 185
Thanks: 71
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Welcomes: 26
Welcomed 25 Times in 1 Post
Send a message via Skype™ to sondre
Re: The Fishless Cycle

i think it could be plants "eating" ammonia lol , it actually drops within 12 hours .

so i will start adding ammonia every other day .

why do we need to add it every other day ? it kind of seems to me,if it drops down to 0 within 12 hours,we should add it every 12 hours to get more bacteria . (???)

Sorry if this sounds silly,just want to know how these things work , and it is my first tank after all,so i got no experience with tanks .

Holly,i hope your cycle will finish soon, 6 weeks is a loooong time ! you are very patient !
When you start your 36 gallon , maybe you could add couple plants in it,to compare if they actually do make a difference .
sondre is offline  
post #27 of 83 (permalink) Old 07-20-2011, 08:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: The Fishless Cycle

I read on some other sites about the lighting during this process, some say to keep it on all the time, and other say keep it dark? Any recommendations?
Meave is offline  
post #28 of 83 (permalink) Old 07-20-2011, 11:02 PM
Dude.... wait..... what?
 
holly12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,080
Thanks: 701
Thanked 557 Times in 541 Posts
Welcomes: 828
Welcomed 12 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Keep them off!!! I had mine on and grew a bunch of algae that screwed up my water!!

20g and 36g Heavily Planted

holly12 is offline  
Said thanks:
post #29 of 83 (permalink) Old 07-21-2011, 01:00 PM
What do fish think about?
 
Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East Bremerton, Washington
Posts: 3,684
Thanks: 818
Thanked 1,343 Times in 1,130 Posts
Welcomes: 559
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Quote:
Originally Posted by holly12 View Post
Keep them off!!! I had mine on and grew a bunch of algae that screwed up my water!!
...unless you have live plants in there. Then you'll want the lights on for some of the day to keep the plants happy.

ClearForLife 10G Acrylic, 4 HET rasboras, ~80 RCS, various snails. Ludwigia repens, various moss. Eheim 2211 Canister, 50W heater, Finnex FugeRay Planted+ 17W LED.

"Give me your penchant and I shall grant you deliverance." - Falcor
Gizmo is offline  
Said thanks:
post #30 of 83 (permalink) Old 07-28-2011, 10:22 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Welcomes: 4
Welcomed 11 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

I was wondering, if you finish cycling your tank and your fish haven't arrived yet do you just keep dosing the ammonia at 1/2 every other day to keep the bacteria alive and then do a water change the day you get the fish to lower nitrates to an acceptable level prior to adding the fish? Or do you have to get fish the same day when the cycle finishes?
jebusfreek666 is offline  
Said thanks:
post #31 of 83 (permalink) Old 07-29-2011, 04:01 AM
....has no life....
 
jrman83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: White Plains, MD
Posts: 12,629
Thanks: 746
Thanked 4,636 Times in 3,786 Posts
Welcomes: 5,131
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Quote:
Originally Posted by jebusfreek666 View Post
I was wondering, if you finish cycling your tank and your fish haven't arrived yet do you just keep dosing the ammonia at 1/2 every other day to keep the bacteria alive and then do a water change the day you get the fish to lower nitrates to an acceptable level prior to adding the fish? Or do you have to get fish the same day when the cycle finishes?
If it is going to be a long period after the cycle has completed before fish, then you could add a little ammonia. Just make sure it has time to go away before fish go in.



jrman83 is offline  
post #32 of 83 (permalink) Old 07-30-2011, 07:07 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Welcomes: 4
Welcomed 11 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

One more question on this. I have been doing my cycle for 5 days now, and there has been no change in the ammonia levels in the tank. I dosed it to 5 ppm, and there has been no change what so ever. I am guessing that mine is just taking its time, but at what point should I start to become concerned and start over? A week? 2 weeks?
jebusfreek666 is offline  
post #33 of 83 (permalink) Old 08-19-2011, 05:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 138
Thanks: 20
Thanked 20 Times in 17 Posts
Welcomes: 25
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Awesome post rtbob, thanks! I have just one question (so far, as I haven't actually started): how important is it that the testing be done *exactly* every 24 hours... like if I do it at noon one day, and at 8 am or 5 pm the next, is that likely to affect my results enough that it would matter? Not that I'm planning on doing this, but I know how my life is, and I figure it's likely to happen at some point.

Edit: Ok, one more: I'm planning to use some bacterially "seeded" ornaments; at what point should I put those in the tank that I'm cycling? (I'm thinking right away, after the initial 24 hours of the tank running...)

Last edited by Suzanne; 08-19-2011 at 05:51 PM. Reason: I lied; I have more than one question!
Suzanne is offline  
post #34 of 83 (permalink) Old 08-22-2011, 09:15 AM
 
LariM78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Johannesburg South Africa
Posts: 142
Thanks: 9
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Welcomes: 3
Welcomed 11 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Hi there,

I just set up my new tank over this last weekend. I managed to get some laboratory grade ammonia hydroxide solution - 25% concentration. I'm pretty sure that this stuff is much stronger than what you will find in a hardware store so I'm going to add only a little at a time to make sure I don't overdose. I will post my findings. I have put in most of the decorations. Hopefully I can fill it with water tonight.

45g pentagonal
4 Swordtails, 2 dwarf Gouramis, 5 Mollies, 1 Rainbow Shark, 6 Molly fry 6 zebra danios

88 gal Malawi tank
4 Yellow labs, 1 Baenshi, 2 Borleyis, 3 Trewavas, 2 Livingstonis, 1 Venustus, 2 Green Terrors
LariM78 is offline  
post #35 of 83 (permalink) Old 08-22-2011, 09:48 AM
....has no life....
 
jrman83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: White Plains, MD
Posts: 12,629
Thanks: 746
Thanked 4,636 Times in 3,786 Posts
Welcomes: 5,131
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Concentrations will vary from brand to brand....you need to go slow and test to determine your level before adding more.



jrman83 is offline  
post #36 of 83 (permalink) Old 10-06-2011, 07:59 AM
 
baeya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central New York
Posts: 64
Thanks: 38
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Welcomes: 40
Welcomed 22 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Can you cycle an aquarium with live bacteria? That's how we cycle our pond. I just set up a 90 gal. tank to raise my baby koi and put some of the bacteria I use in the pond into the tank. I also put some of the anacharis from the pond into the tank. I put 4 baby koi in and it has been a week. I test every day and ammonia and nitrites are 0. My test kit came with a phosphate instead of nitrate for some reason. I ordered a nitrate kit last night. Any comments please...

2 Kitties: Tiny & Sassie Blue
1 Doggie: Oliver
*****************************
Angelfish Breeder
baeyasbabies.com
*****************************
6500 Gal Koi Pond with 300 gallon bog
<>
baeya is offline  
post #37 of 83 (permalink) Old 10-06-2011, 09:20 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,683
Thanks: 34
Thanked 923 Times in 843 Posts
Welcomes: 370
Welcomed 12 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Quote:
Originally Posted by baeya View Post
Can you cycle an aquarium with live bacteria? That's how we cycle our pond. I just set up a 90 gal. tank to raise my baby koi and put some of the bacteria I use in the pond into the tank. I also put some of the anacharis from the pond into the tank. I put 4 baby koi in and it has been a week. I test every day and ammonia and nitrites are 0. My test kit came with a phosphate instead of nitrate for some reason. I ordered a nitrate kit last night. Any comments please...
Yes you can use live bacteria to cycle a tank.

But even with no bacteria initialy present, enough fast growing plants will consume any ammonia the bacteria "miss" preventing ammonia spikes. Anacharis is excellent at that plus removing carbon dioxide as well.

Then bacterial will still build up and eventually consume the ammonia and the anacharis will consume nitrates for thier nitrogen.

So with no bacteria (worse case) and plenty of plants it is entirly possible even expected to get no ammonia spike but an initial nitrate spike. Then as bacteria build up the nitrates drop to unmeasureable levels.

my .02
beaslbob is offline  
Said thanks:
post #38 of 83 (permalink) Old 10-06-2011, 10:37 AM
 
baeya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central New York
Posts: 64
Thanks: 38
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Welcomes: 40
Welcomed 22 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Thanks so much for your comment beaslbob. I was hoping for that answer. I haven't seen anyone discuss using live bacteria to cycle their aquarium. Is it not good practice?

I sure wish I had that nitrates test kit now. I can't believe mine came with a phosphates one.......I haven't even seen anyone talk about phosphates....

2 Kitties: Tiny & Sassie Blue
1 Doggie: Oliver
*****************************
Angelfish Breeder
baeyasbabies.com
*****************************
6500 Gal Koi Pond with 300 gallon bog
<>
baeya is offline  
post #39 of 83 (permalink) Old 10-06-2011, 11:48 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,683
Thanks: 34
Thanked 923 Times in 843 Posts
Welcomes: 370
Welcomed 12 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

Quote:
Originally Posted by baeya View Post
Thanks so much for your comment beaslbob. I was hoping for that answer. I haven't seen anyone discuss using live bacteria to cycle their aquarium. Is it not good practice?
from time to time we do hear of people selling live bacteria stuff. And using material from existing aquarium/ponds is a recommended practice. But to me it is at least unnecessary. Afterall the bacteria will grow and get established anyway.
Quote:

I sure wish I had that nitrates test kit now. I can't believe mine came with a phosphates one.......I haven't even seen anyone talk about phosphates....
Phosphates are IMHO actually harder to get down. And when nitrates go down with some phosphates you tent to get cyano. At which point I kill the lights and stop feeding to kill off the cyano. Then resume with less lighting and feeding so the plants thrive but the algae/cyano stays away.

my .02
beaslbob is offline  
post #40 of 83 (permalink) Old 10-07-2011, 03:42 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 177
Thanks: 14
Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts
Welcomes: 112
Welcomed 30 Times in 1 Post
Re: The Fishless Cycle

okay I have a question.i've been fishless cycling for 5 weeks now,at a temperature of about 78-81 degrees with my canopy light on for about 7 hours of the day from the time i get up to about 7pm or about 10:30pm if no one turns off the light when i'm not home.and ph is at 7.6 before when i had my well water in which was hard.it was above 7.6.But I did a 50-60% water change and added spring water and that brought it down a bit.But its never been below 7.6,I used a neaturalize because right after i change it with the spring water it went up a bit,so i tested it again after using the neautralize it went down to 7.6.But my question is I was told to use distilled water to get the rest of my well water out of the tank with the water change and to the lower the ph.

The ph when I tested the spring water(deer park) it was below 7.6 it was in the yellows before i put the spring water in the tank.My question is would that work if I used distilled water or should I do another 30 percent water change with the spring water to get the rest of the well water out and the ph down?Or would that have no effect?I still have about 40 percent well water in their now the next day after i added the spring water I did another 10 percent water change to add the rest of the spring water.I have a 10 gallon tank.would this help or no?i also used dechlorinator after i put the spring water in.just in case.
jen13189 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Aquarium Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome