Diaotoms-HELP - Aquarium Forum
New To The Freshwater Aquarium Hobby This forum is a friendly place for all the people that are new to the freshwater hobby to post their questions. This section makes it quick and easy to find useful information for beginners and get answers to your questions. Please don't be shy and post a thread with your thoughts. Our friendly community will promptly reply and give you advice, and if you have your setting enabled, you'll get an email when someone responds to your thread. Click the link to get started.

  Members currently in the chatroom: 0
Who's Online
The most chatters online in one day was 17, 09-12-2012.
No one is currently using the chat.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-19-2016, 12:02 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 814
Thanks: 71
Thanked 300 Times in 254 Posts
Welcomes: 10
Welcomed 17 Times in 1 Post
Diaotoms-HELP

I just got a 30 cycled and ready to stock and the diatoms covered everything in less than 6 days. I hate to start over, so what can I do? I have been doing this 30 years and never had this happen!
henningc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-19-2016, 09:48 AM
Wild betta tamer
Super Moderator
 
majerah1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Easley,SC
Posts: 8,277
Thanks: 2,000
Thanked 3,327 Times in 2,640 Posts
Welcomes: 4,889
Welcomed 9 Times in 1 Post
Send a message via Yahoo to majerah1
Re: Diaotoms-HELP

Whats the substrate? Silicate sand is bad about feeding diatoms. Its basically just new tank syndrome. You can basically just wipe it off the sides and suck it off the sub with a siphon and let it work itself out.

"I've macrostoma tastes on a veiltail budget. "

If i drew it it'd look like a monkey eating a horsradish on the moon or something
majerah1 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-21-2016, 05:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 814
Thanks: 71
Thanked 300 Times in 254 Posts
Welcomes: 10
Welcomed 17 Times in 1 Post
Re: Diaotoms-HELP

There is no substrate. I'll try your suggestion. Thanks
henningc is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-12-2017, 07:47 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Diaotoms-HELP

I came in search of feedback on a similar issue and thought I would add to this post vs. start another thread. I hope that is ok.

I recently finished cycling a 10g tank and was ready to purchase our fish for the tank. We had a vacation planned and thus were looking forward to purchasing upon arrival today. We got home and went upstairs were the aquarium is to find an outbreak of what I believe is diatoms after reading up.

We left the aquarium light on for a week while we were gone which seems like it could have contributed to the issues. Does anyone know if this is the case? I cleaned the surfaces and tested the water. All levels are still good. Any reason I should hold on moving forward with fish?

Thanks in advance for any info.
WolfpacJCH is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Aquarium Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome