150 Gal Water Change - Aquarium Forum
New To The Freshwater Aquarium Hobby This forum is a friendly place for all the people that are new to the freshwater hobby to post their questions. This section makes it quick and easy to find useful information for beginners and get answers to your questions. Please don't be shy and post a thread with your thoughts. Our friendly community will promptly reply and give you advice, and if you have your setting enabled, you'll get an email when someone responds to your thread. Click the link to get started.

  Members currently in the chatroom: 0
Who's Online
The most chatters online in one day was 17, 09-12-2012.
No one is currently using the chat.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-30-2009, 03:22 PM Thread Starter
JA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 15 Times in 7 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 18 Times in 2 Posts
150 Gal Water Change

Hello everyone my name is Justin and I'm sort of new to the home aquarium thing. I have a 150 Gal freshwaterautolinker.com autolinking image native fish tank and I was wondering how I'm supposed to do the water changes??

I have a thing that I bought at walmart that hooks to the sink in the bathroom that i used to fill the tank. It will also remove the water from my tank.

What my question is, how am I going to re-add TREATED water back to the tank? I can't simply hook the hose to the sink and start adding HARD water to the tank.

Any help would greatly be appreciated!

PS. I run TWO Emperor 400's on this tank.

Thanks in advance!
JA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-30-2009, 03:31 PM
Water Chemistry/ LiveBearer Specialist
 
Oldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Forsyth, IL
Posts: 343
Thanks: 1
Thanked 113 Times in 92 Posts
Welcomes: 4
Welcomed 9 Times in 1 Post
Re: 150 Gal Water Change

Welcome to the forum Justin.
I don't think I understand the question. Water from the tap will always be as hard as the water in the pipes whether or not it goes through a bucket on the way to the tank.
I add dechlorinator to my tap water while my bucket fills then put the water into the tank. People who fill with a Python add the dechlorinator to their tanks while the tank is filling from the hose. I don't care for the fish being exposed to the raw tap water so I use the bucket to add the treatment but otherwise my method is the same as people who use a hose.
Are you keeping a soft water fish that needs you to store some amount of water and soften it before adding to your tank?
Oldman is offline  
Said thanks:
JA
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-30-2009, 03:57 PM Thread Starter
JA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 15 Times in 7 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 18 Times in 2 Posts
Re: 150 Gal Water Change

No, I think you answered my question thanks.

I was just wondering, since the tank is so big I can't exactly treat the water before I put the water into the tank. Like you, using a bucket would be ideal to treat the water and bring it to room temperature before adding it to the tank.

With a 150Gal tank I don't see this as a plausible option since it would take me forever and too many buckets.

You think adding the cold water right to my tank while adding treatment at the same time is the way to go?

Thanks again!
JA is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-30-2009, 05:06 PM
Water Chemistry/ LiveBearer Specialist
 
Oldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Forsyth, IL
Posts: 343
Thanks: 1
Thanked 113 Times in 92 Posts
Welcomes: 4
Welcomed 9 Times in 1 Post
Re: 150 Gal Water Change

It is done by lots of folks but not straight cold water. Try to come close to matching your tank temperature and don't forget the dechlorinator.
Oldman is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-30-2009, 05:47 PM Thread Starter
JA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 15 Times in 7 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 18 Times in 2 Posts
Re: 150 Gal Water Change

Alright Oldman I appreciate your help. I always thought that using cold water was the most pure, since the hot water has been through my hot water tank. But I will take your advise. My tank is room temperature I do not use a heater so I will try best to match that while I dechlorine it right into the tank.

Check out my pictures and video in the Introduce Yourself section of the forums!

Talk with you later! Thanks again.
JA is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-30-2009, 06:28 PM
Aquarium Fanatic
 
phil_pl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dalton, Georgia
Posts: 1,267
Thanks: 315
Thanked 339 Times in 274 Posts
Welcomes: 4,437
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: 150 Gal Water Change

i use to do water changes on my 55 and add a gallon at a time because i didnt have a clean bucket, it wont take too horribly long

It has become more than a hobby!
My 29 Gal Reef
phil_pl is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-30-2009, 07:49 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: 150 Gal Water Change

I just add my dechlorinator when all the water is in the tank.
WyldLife6201 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-30-2009, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
JA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 15 Times in 7 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 18 Times in 2 Posts
Re: 150 Gal Water Change

Update* Just did the water change. Used the hose to drain the water. Regulated temp from faucet and put water back in periodically adding the dechlorineator until the tank was full.

All seems fine. Fish are very active, but they usually are at this time of day.

Thanks for everyone's help!
JA is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-01-2009, 07:20 AM
 
James0816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,608
Thanks: 35
Thanked 580 Times in 499 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 10 Times in 1 Post
Re: 150 Gal Water Change

It's always tricky when it comes to the larger tanks as you're replacing 25+ g's at a time. Unless you have some type of storage tank (55g barrel) you can use for your water, the python will be your next best friend. As mentioned above, just add your water conditioner while the tank is refilling and you should be good to go.
James0816 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Aquarium Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










« I'm new! | hi all »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome