Filtration question - Aquarium Forum
Aquarium Product Reviews This forum is for reviews (good or bad) of aquarium related products, new product announcements, questions about a particular product, and all other product review threads. Fresh, Salt, Pond, etc. Any review about any product is welcome. Please start a new thread and share your thoughts.

  Members currently in the chatroom: 0
Who's Online
The most chatters online in one day was 17, 09-12-2012.
No one is currently using the chat.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-01-2013, 08:34 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Filtration question

Hi! I'm new here. I'm not sure how this works, but I have a question that I can't find an answer for.

My husband and I are in the process of setting up a new aquarium - standard 55 gallon to put his discusautolinker.com autolinking image in so I can have my aquarium back for tropical.

He has 2 canister filters running and I am confused as to why particulate floats around, gets extremely close to the intake and goes right past. This concerns me because the fish and plants aren't even in yet and I'm worried about how much debris will be left to settle. In my mind, two canisters should have enough power and suction to remove the "floaters" and they just go on by. I stuck my arm down into the tank and put my hand over the two intakes and feel no suction at all. I know there is water flowing, but as the fish and plants are put in and they're fed, why doesn't it pull the things floating in?
jmill991 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-01-2013, 08:39 PM
I CHANGE WATER
 
coralbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saratoga, NY
Posts: 8,440
Thanks: 6,465
Thanked 6,026 Times in 4,514 Posts
Welcomes: 1,671
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: Filtration question

Filter media(mechanicals) may need to be cleaned,possibly a kink in one of the hoses ,debris clogging a hose or even the flow is not turned up all the way if it is adjustable?



coralbandit is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-01-2013, 08:42 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Filtration question

That's all been done and checked and I'm stuck. I appreciate the advice though. Thanks.
jmill991 is offline  
Said thanks:
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-01-2013, 08:45 PM
I CHANGE WATER
 
coralbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saratoga, NY
Posts: 8,440
Thanks: 6,465
Thanked 6,026 Times in 4,514 Posts
Welcomes: 1,671
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: Filtration question

What kind and size are the canisters?



coralbandit is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Aquarium Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome