New (to me) 30 gallon long! - Aquarium Forum
Freshwater Tank Builds This forum is where you may post pictures and descriptions, as well as progress reports of setting up your new freshwater tank. This includes any type of freshwater system, such as fish only, live plants, freshwater invert tanks, etc.

  Members currently in the chatroom: 0
Who's Online
The most chatters online in one day was 17, 09-12-2012.
No one is currently using the chat.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-08-2010, 11:49 PM Thread Starter
unda da sea
 
automatic-hydromatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 1,009
Thanks: 7
Thanked 212 Times in 186 Posts
Welcomes: 140
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Talking New (to me) 30 gallon long!

Hopefully this weekend, I'll be able to get out of my little 10 gallon

I'm going to look at a 30 gallon long Friday or this weekend that I might pick up if it all looks to be in good shape.

Comes with tank, stand, 200 watt heater, light ( not sure about the specifics, but I'll probably have to upgrade it ), and a Fluval 305 with all the hoses, all for $150, so I think it'll be a good deal if it's all in good shape!







It'll be a planted tank of coarse, and the first residents will just be my Dwarf Gouramis, and algae eater, and some shrimp out of my 10 gallon. Then I'll be able to use my 10 gallon for some Dwarf Gourami breeding



I have to work small-scale here... I originally planned on at least a 55 gallon, but I don't think I have the room for it to be honest...

Last edited by automatic-hydromatic; 12-09-2010 at 12:02 AM.
automatic-hydromatic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-09-2010, 03:05 PM
 
Zook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Welcomes: 26
Welcomed 7 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

You scored on that deal!

Mt.Shasta,CA
Zook is offline  
post #3 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-10-2010, 12:35 AM Thread Starter
unda da sea
 
automatic-hydromatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 1,009
Thanks: 7
Thanked 212 Times in 186 Posts
Welcomes: 140
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

yup

going to pick it up tomorrow afternoon. I'll post more pics once I get everything home

not sure if I'll have it completely set up this weekend, but I'll try. I'll need to get the substrate which I'm undecided upon with yet, and I'll have to get plants at the same time too. not all of the plants, because I plan on completely tearing down my 10 gallon when I switch over for now, so I'll be able to use the plants, rocks, and driftwood from it, as well as the gravel substrate which I'll mix with the new substrate that I buy.

with all the reused plants, ornaments, and gravel, this tank should cycle in no time, lol
automatic-hydromatic is offline  
 
post #4 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-10-2010, 11:12 AM Thread Starter
unda da sea
 
automatic-hydromatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 1,009
Thanks: 7
Thanked 212 Times in 186 Posts
Welcomes: 140
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

the person emailed me last night and said they threw in some more things, so I'm getting more for the same cost!

I'm not sure what else they're throwing in, but I'm definitely not passing it up



I just got back from Home Depot and WalMart

$20 worth of beaslbob supplies!


automatic-hydromatic is offline  
Said thanks:
post #5 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-10-2010, 11:15 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 719
Thanks: 24
Thanked 122 Times in 114 Posts
Welcomes: 119
Welcomed 5 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

30 gallon long is a cool tank, i have a 20 long, much easier to light than your standerd 30 gallon. I dont know if your going wit HoB or canister filter but it might be better to put 2 filters rated for a 15-20 gallon on each side so there is a good flow.
mk4gti is offline  
post #6 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-10-2010, 11:50 AM Thread Starter
unda da sea
 
automatic-hydromatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 1,009
Thanks: 7
Thanked 212 Times in 186 Posts
Welcomes: 140
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

yeah that's why I wanted a long tank, so it's not so deep

and the buy comes with a Fluval 305 canister filter, which is rated for 70 gallons max

the filter alone is worth the price I'm paying for the entire setup; gotta love craigslist, lol
automatic-hydromatic is offline  
post #7 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-10-2010, 08:06 PM Thread Starter
unda da sea
 
automatic-hydromatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 1,009
Thanks: 7
Thanked 212 Times in 186 Posts
Welcomes: 140
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

I'd say I did good for $150

sorry for the not-so-great pictures; I'm using my phone...












the included light fixture is a single tube 24" T-8 bulb. it's pretty darn bright, and he included an extra bulb too, so we'll see how it works out. he said his plants grew like crazy with the bulb that's in it now, so we'll see







and the Fluval 305 is like new. he said he bought it about a year ago







and included with everything was a couple catch nets, a breeder net, the 200 watt heater of coarse, and a scrapper





of TON of chemicals like plant food, parasite treatment stuff, saltautolinker.com autolinking image, and PH stabilizers, and a bunch of activated carbon





and a bag full of Cichlid breeding caves which I may or may not use. I probably will use the tan colored arch one on the right, because it's the same color as the gravel I'm putting in the tank, so it'll fit right in if I do use it







not pictured is a bag of filter pad material as well




So I've got everything cleaned up and ready to go, and I'll start the build tomorrow!
automatic-hydromatic is offline  
post #8 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-10-2010, 10:57 PM
 
Zook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 78
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Welcomes: 26
Welcomed 7 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

sweet!

Mt.Shasta,CA
Zook is offline  
post #9 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-11-2010, 01:13 AM
 
ValorieMackison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 120
Thanks: 8
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Welcomes: 111
Welcomed 10 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

I am envious! I wish I had considered long tanks when I purchased my first mid-sized aquarium setup, lol. It was a 39 gallon extra tall. (So much so that my 5'7" self had to stand on a step ladder & still ended up with my chest in the tank to reach the bottom.) It was gorgeous & the occupants were very healthy, I'll give it that, but I don't wish that setup on anyone, nor the retail price! (unless they want a partial bath)
ValorieMackison is offline  
post #10 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-11-2010, 10:45 PM Thread Starter
unda da sea
 
automatic-hydromatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 1,009
Thanks: 7
Thanked 212 Times in 186 Posts
Welcomes: 140
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

got her all set up today

took a little trial and error to get the peat moss to stay in place... I originally put too much water in at the beginning, and the peat moss floated up and when I put the play sand in, it sank under the peat moss... so I had to take all of that mess out and start over...

but it came out GREAT! I'm astonished at just how clear the water is despite being just set up!






















half full; time for the plants from my established 10 gallon, along with some ornaments

it's going to get more plants; this is just what I already had. I also plan on getting some more African drift wood










then filled it up, readied the Fluval 305, primed it, started it up, installed the aerator on the right of the tank by the filter outlet, and put the light on

I'm DEFINITELY going to need to upgrade this light... it doesn't even give full coverage in the tank...










next step; get a backdrop to hide all the wires and the filter hoses behind the tank :P
automatic-hydromatic is offline  
Said thanks:
post #11 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-12-2010, 02:21 AM
 
chevyboy_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Welcomes: 4
Welcomed 12 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

Awesome Score on that tank setup!!! Kinda reminds me of my 50Gallon I purchased

Is that rock formation you have in there something you built? of something you bought? I would LOVE to get or build something like that for my 50G, It would fit in perfectly.

20 Gallon Long tank:
Glo HO T5 lighting
Tetra Whisper heater
Cheap Aquatech until Fluval 105 is affordable
Custom Built Stand

Currently the home to 1 pleco, 1 Fancy guppy, 1 pepper Cory, 1 feeder guppy

Planted with: Java Fern, Glossostigma, Crypt Parva, Bunched Hedge.

"Tell me I shouldn't even try, Tell me the risk to great, the challenge to hard, Say I Won't and I will"
chevyboy_0 is offline  
post #12 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-12-2010, 02:42 AM Thread Starter
unda da sea
 
automatic-hydromatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 1,009
Thanks: 7
Thanked 212 Times in 186 Posts
Welcomes: 140
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

The one on the left is a cave structure that I made a while ago out of blank CD cases, slate rock shards, gravel, and aquarium silicone. The structure on the right is just stacked slate rock. I bought an 8 lb or so slab from the LFS, took it home, and fractured it into a bunch of usable sized pieces with a hammer, and I use those pieces to stack into any structure I please
automatic-hydromatic is offline  
post #13 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-12-2010, 10:37 AM
....has no life....
 
jrman83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: White Plains, MD
Posts: 12,629
Thanks: 746
Thanked 4,636 Times in 3,786 Posts
Welcomes: 5,131
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

Use plants to hide your wires/hoses. Tank needs some taller plants anyway. I would also ditch the hood and add a glass canopy and new light.



jrman83 is offline  
post #14 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-12-2010, 10:43 AM Thread Starter
unda da sea
 
automatic-hydromatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 1,009
Thanks: 7
Thanked 212 Times in 186 Posts
Welcomes: 140
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrman83 View Post
Use plants to hide your wires/hoses. Tank needs some taller plants anyway. I would also ditch the hood and add a glass canopy and new light.


Quote:
Originally Posted by automatic-hydromatic View Post
it's going to get more plants; this is just what I already had. I also plan on getting some more African drift wood

I'm DEFINITELY going to need to upgrade this light... it doesn't even give full coverage in the tank...

next step; get a backdrop to hide all the wires and the filter hoses behind the tank :P

I'm not sure I like this hood anyhow... so we'll see what I do about it...

I'm not going to do anything expensive with it right now like a new light; probably just a backdrop (black more than likely) and a few cheap larger plants from the LFS



automatic-hydromatic is offline  
post #15 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-12-2010, 10:51 AM
....has no life....
 
jrman83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: White Plains, MD
Posts: 12,629
Thanks: 746
Thanked 4,636 Times in 3,786 Posts
Welcomes: 5,131
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

36" long tank?



jrman83 is offline  
post #16 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-12-2010, 10:58 AM Thread Starter
unda da sea
 
automatic-hydromatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 1,009
Thanks: 7
Thanked 212 Times in 186 Posts
Welcomes: 140
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

yes, 36"

which I read is actually the standard length of a 30 gallon; most people just choose to go with the taller but not as wide 30 gallon
automatic-hydromatic is offline  
post #17 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-12-2010, 11:02 AM
....has no life....
 
jrman83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: White Plains, MD
Posts: 12,629
Thanks: 746
Thanked 4,636 Times in 3,786 Posts
Welcomes: 5,131
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

36" lights are in abundance...of course going to high light may force going with CO2. Are you doing a home brew CO2? Would be perfect for a tank that size.



jrman83 is offline  
post #18 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-12-2010, 11:07 AM Thread Starter
unda da sea
 
automatic-hydromatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 1,009
Thanks: 7
Thanked 212 Times in 186 Posts
Welcomes: 140
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

no CO2 as of yet

I'd much rather go compressed CO2 instead of messing around with mixing the home brewed setup

but I don't think the tank is heavily planted enough yet to require it. once it really starts getting full of plants, I'll run CO2
automatic-hydromatic is offline  
post #19 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-12-2010, 11:32 AM
 
chevyboy_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Welcomes: 4
Welcomed 12 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

As for the hood and light, I would reccommend this

GLO t5 HO - Google Search

This is the setup Im running on my 50gallon, The one I have is 36" single bulb that I found on clearance at the LFS for 40 bucks ;) Currently I have a 6700k bulb in there. And I'm loving how clean it looks with just the light on there.

20 Gallon Long tank:
Glo HO T5 lighting
Tetra Whisper heater
Cheap Aquatech until Fluval 105 is affordable
Custom Built Stand

Currently the home to 1 pleco, 1 Fancy guppy, 1 pepper Cory, 1 feeder guppy

Planted with: Java Fern, Glossostigma, Crypt Parva, Bunched Hedge.

"Tell me I shouldn't even try, Tell me the risk to great, the challenge to hard, Say I Won't and I will"
chevyboy_0 is offline  
post #20 of 265 (permalink) Old 12-12-2010, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
unda da sea
 
automatic-hydromatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 1,009
Thanks: 7
Thanked 212 Times in 186 Posts
Welcomes: 140
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Re: New (to me) 30 gallon long!

thanks for the recommendation

I might actually see what I can do for making my own out of florescent light fixtures. I consider myself pretty crafty, and I'm sure I could make something work great after a little Googleing to get some ideas


nice Chevelle by the way
automatic-hydromatic is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Aquarium Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome