Using the Python for water changes with my Discus - Aquarium Forum
Discus Fish This forum is for discussions of one of the kings of the freshwater realm, the Discus Cichlid.

  Members currently in the chatroom: 0
Who's Online
The most chatters online in one day was 17, 09-12-2012.
No one is currently using the chat.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-27-2014, 11:45 AM Thread Starter
 
Discus are dime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Welcomes: 17
Welcomed 22 Times in 1 Post
Question Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

Hi everyone, i'm new here, and have a question for all you discusautolinker.com autolinking image pros i'm moving my current 3 discusautolinker.com autolinking image (later will be 5 or 6) from my 40 to my 90 gallon in a couple weeks after cycling is complete (will be 8 weeks then) and am nervous about using the new (amazing) Python for my 90 going forward.. I used it once already and it's going to make my water changes a breeze! Love this thing!

The problem is, with Discus in there, then putting tap water directly back in the tank before treating it with Prime, can't be good! My LFS says to put a 90 gallon treatment of Prime in the tank just before I add the tap water, and all is fine... 3 minutes before the prime works, and doing this every few days makes me think my discus will suffer. Thoughts? I have never done it this way, and would love to hear from anyone who's done it this way and all is good. Oh and btw, it's planted with flourite substrate, clown loaches, large angel, and other small shoalers. Thanks!

Last edited by Discus are dime; 10-17-2014 at 09:56 PM.
Discus are dime is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-27-2014, 04:30 PM
I CHANGE WATER
 
coralbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saratoga, NY
Posts: 8,440
Thanks: 6,465
Thanked 6,026 Times in 4,514 Posts
Welcomes: 1,671
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

I don't use any python or similar device ,but if your discusautolinker.com autolinking image are all good with your tap water(pH,kh,gH) then I would not worry.Your LFS gave you good advice.For prime and pythons you add enough prime for total volume of tank(not just water changed).I'll add although I don't do things this way(no python again) I do own a chlorine test kit and by the time I'm done filling my 30g water storage containers the amount of prime needed for 30 g has worked and my test say 0 chlorine.
Most everyone here with pythons or aqueon devices use prime just the way your LFS told you so I wouldn't worry too much.You gain confidence and comfort after some time(we all hate change to some degree!).
My discusautolinker.com autolinking image do fine in my tap water also considering they are in a "community tank"(7.6pH/3kH/0gH).



coralbandit is offline  
Said thanks:
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-27-2014, 04:52 PM
I CHANGE WATER
 
coralbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saratoga, NY
Posts: 8,440
Thanks: 6,465
Thanked 6,026 Times in 4,514 Posts
Welcomes: 1,671
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

Look for better info from Rod4Rodger and Leclair.They are both very good discusautolinker.com autolinking image keepers.



coralbandit is offline  
Said thanks:
 
post #4 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-27-2014, 10:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Discus are dime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Welcomes: 17
Welcomed 22 Times in 1 Post
Smile Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

Thanks for the reassurance and advice coralbandit, I will give it a try once the discusautolinker.com autolinking image are in there and watch for any stress signs, only other option I know of would be a submersible pump and a large plastic garbage pail to treat first then re-fill... Cheers!
Discus are dime is offline  
post #5 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-28-2014, 11:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 181
Thanks: 28
Thanked 84 Times in 60 Posts
Welcomes: 7
Welcomed 20 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

I do not recommend adding water to the tank that has not been de-chlorinated, had the chloramine removed, and is not at the same PH and temperature as the tank. It should be aged at least 24 hours with a bubbler and heater.

That said, now the caveats and rambling on:

I have added water directly to my tank before. I would not if it contains chloramine. I am not very fond of the idea of doing it with chlorine. In my experience aged water at the right PH and temperature is the best. I had descent water in the past but my water now is so hard I have to use an RO/DI system and add Kent Marine River Right and discusautolinker.com autolinking image Essential. The discusautolinker.com autolinking image are healthier than they ever were on the aged and de-chlorinated tap water.

I highly recommend a plastic trash can with a heater and a bubbler. If you only have chlorine, no additive as long as your PH is fine and you bubble it for 24 hours. If you have chloramine, use something to get it out. Over time it will harm your Discus. It will also load your bio filter and make the new water old fast.

Chloramine is so nasty even with chemicals to remove the chlorine it was like adding urinal water to the tank.

When the chlorine molecule is released from the ammonia you have a new source of ammonia, your make up water. The only way to get out all the chloramine is with a carbon block filter. The ammonia can be removed with a very good carbon filter. It sounds like you may not have these problems since you have just been using tap water.

Our city changed from chlorine to chloramine and from aquifer water to surface water. Did they bother to tell anybody? Nooooo. I lost several Discus over a three or four month time frame until I figured out what they had done and went to the RO/DI system. It has been almost a year since with one death that took six months but never recovered from the illness the bad water caused so I credit his death to the city as well.

I got a utility pump for two reasons, if my main sump pumps fail, I have a back up, and to move water from the trash can to the tank. I have a permanent 1" vacuum hose with ball valves in the end. The exhaust has a trap on it so it does not lose prime when I shut it off. I even ran a PVC line from the prep trash cans to the sump. I can drain and refill 100 gallons in about fifteen minutes or less.
Rod4Rodger is offline  
post #6 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 06:33 AM
I CHANGE WATER
 
coralbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saratoga, NY
Posts: 8,440
Thanks: 6,465
Thanked 6,026 Times in 4,514 Posts
Welcomes: 1,671
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

I too prep water in 32/44 gallon barrels(rubbermaid garbage cans).You could still use your python to remove water.I have a pump and hose to return water to my sump also.So I don't use buckets.I pre heat ,aireate and age my water.I can change like 60 g in 3-5 minutes.It takes longer to refill my barrells than change water.



coralbandit is offline  
Said thanks:
post #7 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 11:23 AM Thread Starter
 
Discus are dime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Welcomes: 17
Welcomed 22 Times in 1 Post
Thumbs up Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

Thanks guys, I originally had a submersible pump in my purchase package of the 90 gallon to do just that...looks like i'll be going back to buy it now... I was hoping to avoid the extra step and cost, and probably would try without if I didn't have discusautolinker.com autolinking image. I can't take the chance❤️!! BTW, LFS manager suggested a food grade barrel, since garbage cans may leech toxins unsafe for fish. Farm supply stores have them I believe (TSC).. Again, thanks for the good advice cheers!
Discus are dime is offline  
post #8 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 03:22 PM
I CHANGE WATER
 
coralbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saratoga, NY
Posts: 8,440
Thanks: 6,465
Thanked 6,026 Times in 4,514 Posts
Welcomes: 1,671
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

Quote:
Originally Posted by discusautolinker.com autolinking image are dime View Post
BTW, LFS manager suggested a food grade barrel, since garbage cans may leech toxins unsafe for fish. Farm supply stores have them I believe (TSC).. Again, thanks for the good advice cheers!
You got good info from your LFS guy!I think my 4 latest rubbermaid garbage cans definately leeched something(mold release agent,algaecide...?)even after a week of rinsing and soaking.I lost my first fish placed in the tank I used these barrels for(120 from NJ) and continued to lose same 1 fish(poor royal grammas{3 of them over 2 weeks}) until I ran carbon in my tank for a week.My case in particular is what carbon is good for.Removing "whatever " is in our water that will not register on any of our test.
I think prepping water is the way to go as it will allow your pH to stabilise and could be very helpful like R4R said if by chance your water is treated with chloramine(which is chlorine bonded to ammonia!).



coralbandit is offline  
Said thanks:
post #9 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 04:11 PM Thread Starter
 
Discus are dime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Welcomes: 17
Welcomed 22 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

Aww, that's unfortunate coralbandit :(, but does seem to underscore the need to be on the safe side! yea, this LFS guy (Big Al's if you're Canadian) is super knowledgable, although he told me he uses the python on the store 200 gal reef tanks running tap water back in! I guess their fish losses don't have the same financial impact on them when it's about efficiency, and time is money to them. Anyway, i've located a 55 gallon food grade barrel w/lid deemed safe for drinking water for $20, need to pick that up and then the pump... more work but I do feel better doing things this way, i've always babied my fish ❤️ and should continue that practice! Thanks
Discus are dime is offline  
Said thanks:
post #10 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-30-2014, 06:19 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 181
Thanks: 28
Thanked 84 Times in 60 Posts
Welcomes: 7
Welcomed 20 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

I have never had any problem with my Rubbermaid trashcans, but it is good to know. If I replace them in the future I will keep that in mind.
Rod4Rodger is offline  
post #11 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-04-2014, 08:42 AM Thread Starter
 
Discus are dime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Welcomes: 17
Welcomed 22 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

Hey guys, something I thought i'd share that I learned over the past week.. I found out that Rubbermaid makes a line of trash cans called BRUTE, they are color coded from the manufacturer...and gray, yellow, and white cans are FDA approved, any other color is not.. They are available at Home Depot, some of you may already have these which is great! I picked up a gray 33 gallon yesterday and did my water change using my python and submersible pump, super easy and fast! Fish are going in today
Discus are dime is offline  
post #12 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-04-2014, 08:49 AM
I CHANGE WATER
 
coralbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saratoga, NY
Posts: 8,440
Thanks: 6,465
Thanked 6,026 Times in 4,514 Posts
Welcomes: 1,671
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

It was /is the gray brutes I use and had the issue with.I hope you rinsed it well,Even if the container itself is safe it is possible for contaminants to get in/on the can at the store.



coralbandit is offline  
post #13 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-16-2014, 02:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Discus are dime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Welcomes: 17
Welcomed 22 Times in 1 Post
Question Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

Hey guys, I have a question: do you deworm your discusautolinker.com autolinking image? Food and water treatment ie. prazi pro? Treat with metro? I got a blue diamond a week ago and he's developed cloudy eye. Body turning a bit darker, but otherwise fine. Haven't been able to catch him when he's pooping, but water parameters are great, waterchange daily, adding saltautolinker.com autolinking image, heat up to 86. I'm getting confused with what i'm reading as to how to treat him....some say metro, some just salt and heat, some say deworm and some say all the above lol...i'm thinking all of it to be safe, please advise I want to address it quickly and don't know if these meds will do harm, or help safeguard them. Help!
Discus are dime is offline  
post #14 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-16-2014, 02:59 PM
I CHANGE WATER
 
coralbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saratoga, NY
Posts: 8,440
Thanks: 6,465
Thanked 6,026 Times in 4,514 Posts
Welcomes: 1,671
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

New discusautolinker.com autolinking image Always Quarantine Easy Step Guide.
You should QT and deworm every fish added to a tank with discusautolinker.com autolinking image.
I would move on to dewroming all fish in tank now.



coralbandit is offline  
Said thanks:
post #15 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-16-2014, 06:20 PM Thread Starter
 
Discus are dime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Welcomes: 17
Welcomed 22 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

Thanks coralbandit, I will use prazi pro tomorrow. Do you use the liquid for the entire aquarium plus the food that has the dewormer in it? I can't get that food at my LFS, but wondered about soaking blood worms in the liquid so they ingest it?
Discus are dime is offline  
post #16 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-17-2014, 12:40 PM
....has no life....
 
jrman83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: White Plains, MD
Posts: 12,629
Thanks: 746
Thanked 4,636 Times in 3,786 Posts
Welcomes: 5,131
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

I use a Brute trashcan also. Have never had problem with it and before that used something a little less-brute. Or if they are causing problems it is something I cannot directly relate it to. It only accounts for 50% of my water so maybe it doesn't affect it as much. I looked around for food-grade cans when I replaced this one. I guess it is a matter of looking at the right place as I had no luck.



jrman83 is offline  
post #17 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-17-2014, 02:20 PM
I CHANGE WATER
 
coralbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saratoga, NY
Posts: 8,440
Thanks: 6,465
Thanked 6,026 Times in 4,514 Posts
Welcomes: 1,671
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

I do still use all my Brutes(44 and [email protected]).I think the problem I encountered was some contaminent from the store(who knows what they spray or clean floors with)?
The big speculation in leaching from Brutes is BPA,and possibly phosphates.
The Phosphates are not a real concern to any keeper who knows about P04 as your food is the largest contributor going without any doubt,but the BPA is a source of concern mostly for saltwater(reef )keepers and very sensative inverts.It is of concern to many still as much is not known or the limits allowed are being questioned still.
What Is BPA (Bisphenol A)? Is BPA Harmful? - Medical News Today
Bisphenol A (BPA).
All this being said it is my opinion that most if not all fresh water keepers will have no trouble with this,but the storage of RO/DI is slightly more in question as this "water" will absorb anything as it is stripped completely of everything.Most studies sited LONG TERM storage of several months to even get any detectable level of anything.
If your storing/prepping water like most of us it will not last one week ,so the months to absorb should not be an issue either.
DAD:heres a link on the prazi
Prazipro Treatment for Internal Parasites, External Parasites Including Gill Flukes on discusautolinker.com autolinking image Fish,Angelfish and all Tropical Fish.
Here's one on metro;Treating Illness NADA
And another link on general discusautolinker.com autolinking image care;Disease 30 years experience keeping and breeding Discus fish Former editor of Our Discus Magazine a North American Discus Society Publication
These fish deserve(often demand) a little extra in every way you can imagine.You will keep busy and have your hands full if you really want to keep them healthy and happy!GOOD LUCK!




Last edited by coralbandit; 05-17-2014 at 02:31 PM. Reason: Adding links to worming and treatments
coralbandit is offline  
Said thanks:
post #18 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-19-2014, 04:11 PM Thread Starter
 
Discus are dime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Welcomes: 17
Welcomed 22 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

Once again, thank you coralbandit I have not been aging my water and brag about my 20 minute water changes lol, but am seeing micro bubbles going back in (nitrogen, CO2?) along with a grayish haze to the treated water as it's being pumped back into the tank. Can't be good, right? (I believe it's dissolved gasses in my city water) If I aerate it for an hour, do you think that would work? If I have to age it overnight do I hang a heater into the trash can overnight? How do you do it? Sorry to be such a pain, I just appreciate advice from people who have more experience than I do, and have a system that works nicely... You've been extremely helpful to me so far!

Last edited by Discus are dime; 05-19-2014 at 04:18 PM.
Discus are dime is offline  
Said thanks:
post #19 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-19-2014, 06:44 PM
I CHANGE WATER
 
coralbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saratoga, NY
Posts: 8,440
Thanks: 6,465
Thanked 6,026 Times in 4,514 Posts
Welcomes: 1,671
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

I do actually have a heater in my barrel.Also airline and a powerhead?All these things are easy enough as I had them anyways.If you use a heater then you can just fill barrels with cold water which is better IMO.Many discussions before about how much higher TDS are from the water heater?
And yea if you got micro bubbles then letting water set up for 24 hours will definately let the pH settle to where it would "naturally" be as opposed to how it comes out of tap with all the additives from your water supplier.



coralbandit is offline  
Said thanks:
post #20 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-19-2014, 08:40 PM Thread Starter
 
Discus are dime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Thanks: 22
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Welcomes: 17
Welcomed 22 Times in 1 Post
Re: Using the Python for water changes with my Discus

Sounds good I had to google TDS lol, total dissolved solids, i've heard that it's higher in the hot water heater too. So fill barrel with cold water, drop in heater, and wait overnight. Prime etc. a few minutes b4 pumping back in. Sounds like a good plan thanks!
Discus are dime is offline  
Said thanks:
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Aquarium Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome