how do YOU stack your RENA - Aquarium Forum
African Cichlids Discussions about Cichlids from Africa - Lake Malawi, Lake Tanganyika, and Lake Victoria.

  Members currently in the chatroom: 0
Who's Online
The most chatters online in one day was 17, 09-12-2012.
No one is currently using the chat.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-11-2013, 12:36 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Santa Paula
Posts: 31
Thanks: 18
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Welcomes: 3
Welcomed 33 Times in 1 Post
how do YOU stack your RENA

i just got a XP3 for my 55g mbuna tank, im looking for a EFFICIENT and cheaper way to load the filter media. suggestions please.
gone fishin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-11-2013, 04:51 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Thanks: 18
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Welcomes: 69
Welcomed 15 Times in 1 Post
Re: how do YOU stack your RENA

Hello, I use the sponges first, then bio ceramics, then purigen and micron pads. You can use sponges, filter floss, this is a great filter. clean the sponges in tank water to maintain your good bacteria. I have stopped using carbon in my tank.
dbull is offline  
Said thanks:
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-15-2013, 06:44 PM
 
philthy209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 96
Thanks: 56
Thanked 22 Times in 18 Posts
Welcomes: 11
Welcomed 20 Times in 1 Post
Re: how do YOU stack your RENA

I don't have a Rena but I stack my fluval using the oem floss bio starsthen bio max then bio max then and more bio max. I don't use carbon or any chemical filtration.
philthy209 is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-15-2013, 08:26 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sechelt
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: how do YOU stack your RENA

I have the xp3 and the xp4 and I love them.
the bottom chamber I do the 2 coarse foam followed by the 2 fine foam, middle chamber I do carbon and then biomedia of some sort (like the little white tube things, or the bio chem starts/spheres), and the top chamber i have more biomedia and then 2 of the micropolishing pads or a lot of polywool. In my xp4 I use extra coarse foam and polywool cuz they gum up faster. recently took the carbon out of my xp4 and replaced with even more biomedia lol
shadesofviolet is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-13-2014, 04:36 PM
Fadil13
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Accokeek, MD
Posts: 160
Thanks: 153
Thanked 39 Times in 35 Posts
Welcomes: 16
Welcomed 19 Times in 1 Post
Re: how do YOU stack your RENA

Quote:
Originally Posted by philthy209 View Post
I don't have a Rena but I stack my fluval using the oem floss bio starsthen bio max then bio max then and more bio max. I don't use carbon or any chemical filtration.
What's your thoughts on not using carbon?
Fadil13 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-13-2014, 04:47 PM
I CHANGE WATER
 
coralbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saratoga, NY
Posts: 8,440
Thanks: 6,465
Thanked 6,026 Times in 4,514 Posts
Welcomes: 1,671
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: how do YOU stack your RENA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fadil13 View Post
What's your thoughts on not using carbon?
Unless you have something in your source water that needs to be removed(that carbon will remove),carbon doesn't do anything that water changes don't do better ,cheaper and easier.
I don't use carbon in any of my tanks.



coralbandit is offline  
Said thanks:
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-13-2014, 04:59 PM
Fadil13
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Accokeek, MD
Posts: 160
Thanks: 153
Thanked 39 Times in 35 Posts
Welcomes: 16
Welcomed 19 Times in 1 Post
Re: how do YOU stack your RENA

Quote:
Originally Posted by coralbandit View Post
Unless you have something in your source water that needs to be removed(that carbon will remove),carbon doesn't do anything that water changes don't do better ,cheaper and easier.
I don't use carbon in any of my tanks.
Thank you - didn't know that - So I shouldn't use the carbon packs that come with the AC110? Extra BioMax would be better served?

In my Marineland HOBs, it would benefit me better to use biomax inserts in the media containers instead of the Rite size filters?

"That needs removing" - what's an example of what carbon removes? Amm?
Fadil13 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-13-2014, 05:10 PM
I CHANGE WATER
 
coralbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saratoga, NY
Posts: 8,440
Thanks: 6,465
Thanked 6,026 Times in 4,514 Posts
Welcomes: 1,671
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: how do YOU stack your RENA

Carbon does not remove ammonia,nitrites or nitrates!It MAY remove an impurity in your tap water or a chemical from where ever.The carbon that comes with any filter is usaully very low quality and never nearly enough for tanks volume.Even "lab grade" carbon(or whatever lable they put on the most expensive) won't last for 30 days.In many cases the carbon in "pre packed filter cartridges" is only good for 10 days IMO.
If you don't have fish dieing from your water you don't need carbon(money spent better elsewhere).
I only use sponges in my aq110 but treat them like bio(rinse only in tank water).
If you think or really desire any chemical filteration PURIGEN(by seachem) is the way to go.It is rechargeable in bleach and water and changes color to alert you .
IMO sponges work as well as any "fancy" bio media if treated properly and way less money(more money better spent).I'll never buy a BIO MEDIA again,but that is just me.
Big time breeders only use sponge filters and waterchanges.Something everyone should consider.



coralbandit is offline  
Said thanks:
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-13-2014, 05:44 PM
....has no life....
 
jrman83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: White Plains, MD
Posts: 12,629
Thanks: 746
Thanked 4,636 Times in 3,786 Posts
Welcomes: 5,131
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: how do YOU stack your RENA

That is why I love Eheim...or one of the reasons. Comes with some of the best media made. Nothing to buy. No decisions to make.



jrman83 is offline  
Said thanks:
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Aquarium Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome