Substrate for a new tank - Aquarium Forum
Freshwater Do It Yourself This is where we discuss all freshwater related DIY projects, tips, questions, and ideas. If you are the do-it-yourself master, or you are just getting started, please post a thread and let's discuss some do it yourself projects.

  Members currently in the chatroom: 0
Who's Online
The most chatters online in one day was 17, 09-12-2012.
No one is currently using the chat.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-02-2015, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
 
herefishyfishyfishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 31
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Welcomes: 1
Welcomed 9 Times in 1 Post
Substrate for a new tank

Do certain fish need certain substrates? Or can you pretty much choose whatever tickles your fancy?
herefishyfishyfishy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-02-2015, 01:22 PM
 
Chillwill007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sewell nj
Posts: 777
Thanks: 170
Thanked 60 Times in 55 Posts
Welcomes: 104
Welcomed 10 Times in 1 Post
Re: Substrate for a new tank

Kinda both ways. Certain ground fish like loaches and cories need something soft to soft through where as if you have like all top dwelling fish you could use what ever. But at the same time you have to think about vacuuming to. Bigger rocks and gravel will let more crude fall between them and if not taken care of will crash your tank over time.

To me that's why a live planted tank is easier then most think. You just lightly vacuum top because the plants will further break down tha gunk into food kinda like fertilizer.
Chillwill007 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-07-2015, 03:39 AM
On the wild side
Super Moderator
 
Summer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,132
Thanks: 364
Thanked 739 Times in 702 Posts
Welcomes: 2,358
Welcomed 32 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Substrate for a new tank

Certain types of fish with barbels--cories, loaches etc, cannot have sharp/rough substrate for their safety. Some fish will prefer different types of substrates. Personal opinion here is that sand stops debris and waste from dropping the to bottom and gathering and offers easy clean up with a syphon or by bottom dwellers.

70 gallon- Betta Enisae pair, betta Ocellata pair, female Betta Pugnax

29 Gallon- Betta Pallifina and Betta Patoti

20 Gallon- Betta Gladiator

5 Gallon- Betta Channoides

And numerous Betta Splendens

Coming soon: Betta Macrostoma :D
Summer is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-07-2015, 10:13 AM Thread Starter
 
herefishyfishyfishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 31
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Welcomes: 1
Welcomed 9 Times in 1 Post
Re: Substrate for a new tank

Thank you both! I've heard before that sand was really difficult to deal with. Is that true? I do like the look of sand because I want to decorate so that my tank has the appearance of a saltwaterautolinker.com autolinking image tank. I was going to go with white gravel. Since I'm a beginner, the easier the better right now.
herefishyfishyfishy is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-07-2015, 11:06 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 875
Thanks: 11
Thanked 375 Times in 342 Posts
Welcomes: 118
Welcomed 38 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Substrate for a new tank

Hello here...

Pea-sized gravel is what I use. It's typically polished so it won't potentially injure fish. Good for planted plants because it allows good water flow to the roots and easy to clean if you want to vacuum the bottom. Very inexpensive compared to other forms of substrate.

B
BBradbury is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-23-2015, 12:59 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 814
Thanks: 71
Thanked 300 Times in 254 Posts
Welcomes: 10
Welcomed 17 Times in 1 Post
Re: Substrate for a new tank

Regardless, MTS help keep everything churned up in a pleasent way. They eat excess food and burrow. Just thin the population down once every six months. If you have an invert tank the dried our and rinsed shells serve as a good form of calcium. If you have crayfish the snails are a treat.
henningc is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-23-2015, 09:00 PM
i need another tank.
 
big b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: georgia
Posts: 3,188
Thanks: 587
Thanked 576 Times in 512 Posts
Welcomes: 410
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Substrate for a new tank

I think you'll need to thin the population down more often then 6 months. I have to thin mine down about once every month or two. I think it depends on the situation of your tank.

Quote:
lol now now, food is "healthy" at school now. Pigeon isn't healthy
if it's dry let it die,if it's wet make it a pet!!
big b is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Aquarium Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome