Is ground probe really useful? - Aquarium Forum
Reef And Saltwater Lighting, Filtration, Reactors, Refugiums, Skimmers, Pumps, And All Other Devices This is the place to discuss filters for reefs and other saltwater tanks. Posts belong here that are involving saltwater aquarium hardware - skimmers, reactors, denitrators, refugiums, wet/dry, uv, ozone, co2, pumps, lights, chillers, etc.

  Members currently in the chatroom: 0
Who's Online
The most chatters online in one day was 17, 09-12-2012.
No one is currently using the chat.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-21-2015, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
 
treliantf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: California
Posts: 379
Thanks: 298
Thanked 146 Times in 106 Posts
Welcomes: 102
Welcomed 14 Times in 1 Post
Cool Is ground probe really useful?

Just want to stir a hot-contested subject to get some opinions.

Stray voltage is common encounter if you own a fish tank (regardless freshautolinker.com autolinking image or marine) and with any electrical devices in it. This voltage can be inductively or capacitively generated and sometimes stay and other times automatically discharged. One practice to somehow get this voltage discharged automatically is by adding a ground probe to the tank such that, hopefully our precious tankmates would not "feel" this unnatural electric field. Now it is the controversy comes:
1. You just artificially create a ground plane using your tank, good or bad, don't know!? It's unnatural for sure.
2. Do your tankmates "feel" the difference with or without the probe, marine tank is conducting, of course.

I personally use one because I am biased on this one. This probe is normally nothing to do with GFI, which is for your shock protection.

Success is measured by years, not by months.
treliantf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-21-2015, 02:06 PM
Wild betta tamer
Super Moderator
 
majerah1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Easley,SC
Posts: 8,277
Thanks: 2,000
Thanked 3,327 Times in 2,640 Posts
Welcomes: 4,889
Welcomed 9 Times in 1 Post
Send a message via Yahoo to majerah1
Re: Is ground probe really useful?

Interesting.

For mine I never thought of anything like that. I wonder f they feel it when static build up and I touch their water?

"I've macrostoma tastes on a veiltail budget. "

If i drew it it'd look like a monkey eating a horsradish on the moon or something
majerah1 is offline  
Said thanks:
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-21-2015, 03:34 PM Thread Starter
 
treliantf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: California
Posts: 379
Thanks: 298
Thanked 146 Times in 106 Posts
Welcomes: 102
Welcomed 14 Times in 1 Post
Re: Is ground probe really useful?

You got the point. We may feel it wouldn't they?

Success is measured by years, not by months.
treliantf is offline  
Said thanks:
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-21-2015, 04:10 PM
I CHANGE WATER
 
coralbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saratoga, NY
Posts: 8,440
Thanks: 6,465
Thanked 6,026 Times in 4,514 Posts
Welcomes: 1,671
Welcomed 21 Times in 1 Post
Re: Is ground probe really useful?

I use them in my SW.
I had a thread before that ended up in the gfci type debate.
Mine is not to replace a gfci,but more for fish or inverts that may feel/sense any stray power(otherwise un measurable) from any or all power using devices in the water.



coralbandit is offline  
Said thanks:
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-21-2015, 05:23 PM Thread Starter
 
treliantf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: California
Posts: 379
Thanks: 298
Thanked 146 Times in 106 Posts
Welcomes: 102
Welcomed 14 Times in 1 Post
Re: Is ground probe really useful?

Yea, we have the common ground, for which we don't get shocked.
This is probably the only stuff I used without a data to back it up. A lot of opinions and yet I do not see statistical data to show one or the other.
My probe is also free because I have a few expired Ti heaters, just add a ground, done.

Success is measured by years, not by months.
treliantf is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Aquarium Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome