substrate equation - Aquarium Forum
Freshwater Plants, Freshwater Planted Tanks Do you grow freshwater plants in your aquarium? This is the forum for you! Freshwater plant species, freshwater plant lights, freshwater plant water additives, chemistry, and plant nutrition. This forum is also a place to discuss plant-safe fish, CO2 dosing, nutrients, fertilizer, substrates, and other topics of interest to those keeping planted aquariums.

  Members currently in the chatroom: 0
Who's Online
The most chatters online in one day was 17, 09-12-2012.
No one is currently using the chat.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-15-2015, 11:27 AM Thread Starter
 
robinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 243
Thanks: 115
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Welcomes: 15
Welcomed 29 Times in 1 Post
substrate equation

Math are hard.

Is there a formula for how much substrate for how deep in x size tank?
I'm thinking of using Eco Complete because plants, if that makes a difference.
robinc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-15-2015, 12:21 PM
Wild betta tamer
Super Moderator
 
majerah1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Easley,SC
Posts: 8,277
Thanks: 2,000
Thanked 3,327 Times in 2,640 Posts
Welcomes: 4,889
Welcomed 9 Times in 1 Post
Send a message via Yahoo to majerah1
Re: substrate equation

Many will go a lb per gallon. For planted some will go about 2 lbs per gallon to make sure the substrate is deep enough. I think a four inch sub would be plenty.

"I've macrostoma tastes on a veiltail budget. "

If i drew it it'd look like a monkey eating a horsradish on the moon or something
majerah1 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-15-2015, 12:34 PM Thread Starter
 
robinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 243
Thanks: 115
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Welcomes: 15
Welcomed 29 Times in 1 Post
Re: substrate equation

Quote:
Originally Posted by majerah1 View Post
Many will go a lb per gallon. For planted some will go about 2 lbs per gallon to make sure the substrate is deep enough. I think a four inch sub would be plenty.
4 inches really? I was planning on 2 1/2 but if 4 inches is what it takes for a well planted tank I'm in.
robinc is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-15-2015, 01:57 PM
 
Chillwill007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sewell nj
Posts: 777
Thanks: 170
Thanked 60 Times in 55 Posts
Welcomes: 104
Welcomed 10 Times in 1 Post
Re: substrate equation

Here goes a substrate calculater punch in length width and how deep you want the substrate. I think 3" deep is ideal and would be my minimum. And that calculater also keys you pick what kinda substrate. Ecco complete play sand and tells you how many pounds. And I know eco comes in 20lb bags

Substrate Calculator
Chillwill007 is offline  
Said thanks:
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-15-2015, 02:44 PM Thread Starter
 
robinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 243
Thanks: 115
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Welcomes: 15
Welcomed 29 Times in 1 Post
Re: substrate equation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillwill007 View Post
Here goes a substrate calculater punch in length width and how deep you want the substrate. I think 3" deep is ideal and would be my minimum. And that calculater also keys you pick what kinda substrate. Ecco complete play sand and tells you how many pounds. And I know eco comes in 20lb bags

Substrate Calculator

thanks that's pretty cool.
robinc is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-15-2015, 06:18 PM
i need another tank.
 
big b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: georgia
Posts: 3,188
Thanks: 587
Thanked 576 Times in 512 Posts
Welcomes: 410
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: substrate equation

Well you don't want it to be 1 inch. Cuz only a few plants can live with a 1 inch thick substrate. I would say 2-3 inches would be about right for most of the plants you can get. Some require 4 inches, I think HUGE amazon swords are one of those that require 4 inches.

Quote:
lol now now, food is "healthy" at school now. Pigeon isn't healthy
if it's dry let it die,if it's wet make it a pet!!
big b is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-15-2015, 08:01 PM Thread Starter
 
robinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 243
Thanks: 115
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Welcomes: 15
Welcomed 29 Times in 1 Post
Re: substrate equation

Quote:
Originally Posted by big b View Post
Well you don't want it to be 1 inch. Cuz only a few plants can live with a 1 inch thick substrate. I would say 2-3 inches would be about right for most of the plants you can get. Some require 4 inches, I think HUGE amazon swords are one of those that require 4 inches.

I might go as far as four in the back and down to three in the front....
robinc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Aquarium Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome