Moving A Large Pleco - Aquarium Forum
Aquarium Forum
Advertise
New To The Freshwater Aquarium Hobby This forum is a friendly place for all the people that are new to the freshwater hobby to post their questions. This section makes it quick and easy to find useful information for beginners and get answers to your questions. Please don't be shy and post a thread with your thoughts. Our friendly community will promptly reply and give you advice, and if you have your setting enabled, you'll get an email when someone responds to your thread. Click the link to get started.

Go Back   Aquarium Forum General Freshwater Aquarium Topics New To The Freshwater Aquarium Hobby

Forgot Password?
Connect with Facebook

Welcome to the Aquarium Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast and simple so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.
Connect with Facebook
OR

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2012, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 0 Times
Was Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Moving A Large Pleco

Hi Everyone,

A few years ago, I purchased a pleco. Well, I've realized just how big he can grow! He was about 2 inches long when we purchased him, and now he's well over a foot long!

I also realized that he's not getting any smaller, and he's becoming too big for our 36 gallon aquarium. We purchased a 55 gallon aquarium kit a few weeks ago, loaded all of the essentials into it, and a few days ago, filled it up. I have been letting it cycle without any fish since then.

Moving my other fish, small tetras and a cory cat, won't be a problem. However, I'm worried about moving my pleco. I don't want to use a net, as I've read about their bristles ripping the net open. I also have heard there is a way you can hold a pleco where he won't move, but I don't want to hold him, as he does squirm and tries to "attack" anyone who comes near him.

So, the question is, how do I move my big guy to his new, bigger, home?
millipedeman is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To millipedeman

Join AquariumForum.com Today - It's Free!

Are you an aquarium enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

AquariumForum.com is owned and operated by fellow lifelong aquarium enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join AquariumForum.com Today! - Click Here


Sponsors

Old 04-14-2012, 02:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Pleco n bn breeder n BOSS
Super Moderator
susankat's Avatar
Welcome Wagon Aquarium Forum Tank Of The Month Winner
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7,129
Name: Susan
Location: Tulsa, Ok
Feedback: 14 / 100%
Said "Welcome to Aquarium Forum" 5,999 Times
Said "Thanks" 2,348 Times
Was Thanked 3,033 Times in 2,360 Posts
Default Re: Moving A Large Pleco

When I move mine I usually drain the tank then catch him by hand, they will try to get away but if you pick him up and put into palm of hand they calm down rather fast. I have also herded them into a large plastic container.

By the way the 55 will last him a little while but not in the long run.
__________________
SUCCESS IS MEASURED BY YEARS, NOT MONTHS!!!
220 Tank build + 62 other tanks.
http://www.aquariumforum.com/f15/sta...late-3253.html
susankat is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To susankat
Old 04-14-2012, 04:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 59
Location: Butler Georgia
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 4 Times
Was Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default Re: Moving A Large Pleco

You can drain the tank down and use a tea pitcher to catch it by scooping it up head first then pouring it into the new tank.
straydog is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To straydog
Old 04-14-2012, 04:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Welcome Wagon
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,858
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Welcome to Aquarium Forum" 3,078 Times
Said "Thanks" 479 Times
Was Thanked 744 Times in 679 Posts
Default Re: Moving A Large Pleco

Does the new tank also have a new filter? The good bacteria that build up in the filter are very important to the health of the tank. If you are going to have a new filter it would be best to run both the new filter and old filter on your new tank for a month. that will give the chance for the bacteria to colonize the new filter, then you can take out the old filter.
snail is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To snail
Old 04-14-2012, 04:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 0 Times
Was Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Moving A Large Pleco

Quote:
Originally Posted by snail View Post
Does the new tank also have a new filter? The good bacteria that build up in the filter are very important to the health of the tank. If you are going to have a new filter it would be best to run both the new filter and old filter on your new tank for a month. that will give the chance for the bacteria to colonize the new filter, then you can take out the old filter.
Yes, the new tank also has a new, more powerful, filter. The new filter is huge and I don't have space to hook in both filters.

I found a clean plastic container. I think I'm going to corral him into that and move him using it.
millipedeman is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To millipedeman
Sponsors

Old 04-14-2012, 07:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 2 Times
Was Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Moving A Large Pleco

i recently moved 2 large common pleco's . i used 2 nets. herded the fish into the larger net and placed the smaller net over the fish and lifted out no problem. placed fish in new tank and pulled net away from him. no damage to nets or fish whatsoever.
deaver is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To deaver
Old 04-15-2012, 12:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Welcome Wagon
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 88
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 8 Times
Was Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default Re: Moving A Large Pleco

Regarding catching i do not know.

Suggest you to move some of the substrate/water, squeeze filter sponge into the new tank so that you get the bacteria into new tank.

but 55G is not going to be adequate for him .
sivakv is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To sivakv
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.



Fish Topsites
Follow us on Twitter!
Alltop, confirmation that we kick ass

All content Copyright AquariumForum.com & the respective author. All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer: We are not responsible for the content of any post or thread. This is a public forum and the content posted does not reflect the opinions of nor are endorsed by AquariumForum.com nor any of our employees.