Mold in siphon - Water hose? - Aquarium Forum
Aquarium Forum
Advertise
General Freshwater Forum This is the general freshwater aquarium forum. Also a place for freshwater filtration and freshwater chemistry posts.

Go Back   Aquarium Forum General Freshwater Aquarium Topics General Freshwater Forum

Forgot Password?
Connect with Facebook

Welcome to the Aquarium Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast and simple so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.
Connect with Facebook
OR

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2012, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
zomblue's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 1 Times
Was Thanked 7 Times in 1 Post
Default Mold in siphon - Water hose?

Hiya...

I use a 20ft clear hose to siphon/fill my tank. I noticed it is starting to get a build up of a black mold inside. I store it wrapped in a bucket.

I have tried to flush it with hot water, but that hasn't moved the mold. What is my best way to safely clean it out? I was told bleach... but have been hesitant to try anything until I get an OK from someone who's done it before. Of course the health of my fish is my worry. Ty in advance for any help!
zomblue is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To zomblue

Join AquariumForum.com Today - It's Free!

Are you an aquarium enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

AquariumForum.com is owned and operated by fellow lifelong aquarium enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join AquariumForum.com Today! - Click Here


Sponsors

Old 11-11-2012, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
AFishNamedCP's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 48
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 6 Times
Was Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default Re: Mold in siphon - Water hose?

that black mold stuff is always a pain to deal with, in your home. I have a bunch of that mold in my A/C drain tube. basically the same thing. I imagine using bleach and a pipe cleaner or some wire brush you may use for dishes or cleaning filters etc. would be best bet. maybe an abrasive cleaner, like a comet. If the mold gets into pores in the material , I don't know if anything works. But as long as you rinse it out well(like running water through it with pressure for 5 miuntes), it should be safe for fish use.
AFishNamedCP is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To AFishNamedCP
Old 11-11-2012, 10:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 25
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 2 Times
Was Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default Re: Mold in siphon - Water hose?

I used to have a tubing brush...I plan on making one soon.

You just need to attach a bottle brush (test tube brush, or the like) to some thick plastic line like string trimmer line or VERY heavy monofilament. The line has to be thick enough that you can feed it through the tube, and then you just pull the brush through.
edisto is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To edisto
Old 11-12-2012, 05:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 42
Location: Indiana, USA
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 15 Times
Was Thanked 19 Times in 16 Posts
Default Re: Mold in siphon - Water hose?

another idea is to get some string and maybe some cotton , then tie the cotton to the end of the string and then use a vacuum cleaner and suck the cotton and string through the hose. then use the string to pull what ever else you might think will clean the hose through. it's a trick that electricians use to pull wire.
Gregory is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To Gregory
Old 11-12-2012, 08:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Aquarium Fanatic
phil_pl's Avatar
Welcome Wagon
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,266
Name: Phil
Location: Dalton, Georgia
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Welcome to Aquarium Forum" 4,437 Times
Said "Thanks" 315 Times
Was Thanked 338 Times in 273 Posts
Default Re: Mold in siphon - Water hose?

I would use vinegar. You can use bleach, I have before, but it always worries me since it is pure chlorine and chlorine kills just about everything. Just regular old vinegar will work wonders on aquarium supplies. I clean everything in it from my pumps to my tubing, I will use about a 1/4 cup worth in a 5 gallon bucket and throw in a small power head if you have one to move the water around during cleaning and let the magic happen. Just be sure to rinse everything when your done.
__________________
It has become more than a hobby!
My 29 Gal Reef
phil_pl is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To phil_pl
Sponsors

Old 11-12-2012, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Dave Waits's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 104
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 13 Times
Was Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
Default Re: Mold in siphon - Water hose?

I used to have that problem. I took care of it by plugging one end of the hose, mixing one gallon of water to one cup of Bleach, filling the water hose with it and plugging the other end. Let it sit for about fifteen minutes then I made an adapter to hook it up to my Gardenhose and blew it out under full pressure for about five minutes. The Bleach, in that strength quickly killed the mold and it came right off of the inside of the hose with the water-pressure. Also, running it for five minutes cleared every trace of Bleach out of the line.
Dave Waits is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To Dave Waits
Old 11-12-2012, 09:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
zomblue's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 1 Times
Was Thanked 7 Times in 1 Post
Default Re: Mold in siphon - Water hose?

Hiya.. ty for the replies...

Comet is a NO NO for fish, it has such tiny particles that it's really hard to get it all rinsed and is deadly, so that's not gonna happen for me lol...

otherwise vinegar is ok, but I tried that and it just didn't cut thru it, so I'm
gonna go with the bleach n closing hose to soak it, then rinsing with garden hose!

thanks alot! Bleach was the one I knew would get the mold, just wondered what others had done.

thanks again! Happy fish fun!
zomblue is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To zomblue
Old 11-12-2012, 10:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
I'm addicted....
dvanbramer88's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 278
Name: Dave
Location: Bristol, PA
Feedback: 2 / 100%
Said "Thanks" 20 Times
Was Thanked 59 Times in 49 Posts
Default Re: Mold in siphon - Water hose?

I just never minded it. My older siphon hose has been black inside for quite some time. Never had a reason to worry about it.
__________________
55 gallon FW community with Blue Rams
20 gallon Goldfish 700 gallon pond
10 gallon Honey Gourami
5.5 nano reef 10 gallon Nano reef
2.5 betta
dvanbramer88 is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To dvanbramer88
Old 11-13-2012, 11:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
What do fish think about?
Gizmo's Avatar
Welcome Wagon
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,231
Name: Guy Miller
Location: Silverdale, Washington
Feedback: 10 / 100%
Said "Welcome to Aquarium Forum" 346 Times
Said "Thanks" 654 Times
Was Thanked 1,147 Times in 974 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo
Default Re: Mold in siphon - Water hose?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvanbramer88 View Post
I just never minded it. My older siphon hose has been black inside for quite some time. Never had a reason to worry about it.
+1
Never bothered me, it's been years. I even get a little crud that breaks loose and flows into the bucket when I start my water changes.
__________________
ClearForLife 10G Acrylic, 6 HET rasboras, ~80 RCS. Ludwigia repens, DHG, various moss. AC50, 50W heater, Finnex FugeRay Planted+ 17W LED.

"Give me your penchant and I shall grant you deliverance." - Falcor
Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To Gizmo
Old 11-23-2012, 09:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
....has no life....
Super Moderator
jrman83's Avatar
Welcome Wagon Aquarium Forum Tank Of The Month Winner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12,558
Name: Ben
Location: White Plains, MD
Feedback: 16 / 100%
Said "Welcome to Aquarium Forum" 5,127 Times
Said "Thanks" 739 Times
Was Thanked 4,571 Times in 3,754 Posts
Default Re: Mold in siphon - Water hose?

I don't mess with it either. I have a 70ft hose. Sort of impractical to try and worry about mine.
jrman83 is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To jrman83
Old 11-23-2012, 07:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
foster's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 208
Location: Michigan
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 31 Times
Was Thanked 73 Times in 53 Posts
Default Re: Mold in siphon - Water hose?

Same here. 50' hose thats pretty much all black inside. Never had a problem.
foster is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To foster
Reply

Previous Thread: What to do with two large Plecos?
Next Thread: memories


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.



Fish Topsites
Follow us on Twitter!
Alltop, confirmation that we kick ass

All content Copyright AquariumForum.com & the respective author. All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer: We are not responsible for the content of any post or thread. This is a public forum and the content posted does not reflect the opinions of nor are endorsed by AquariumForum.com nor any of our employees.