First time trying Fishless cycling - Aquarium Forum
General Freshwater Forum This is the general freshwater aquarium forum. Also a place for freshwater filtration and freshwater chemistry posts.

  Members currently in the chatroom: 1
Who's Online
The most chatters online in one day was 17, 09-12-2012.
Gizmo

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-28-2016, 08:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 19
Thanks: 13
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 6 Times in 1 Post
First time trying Fishless cycling

This is my first time giving Fishless cycling a go.



Using Dr. Tim's one and only kit.



Dosed ammonia to 3 ppm on the first day, checked every 24 hrs since. This being day 4.



Ammonia is still unchanged at 3 ppm. Have not dosed ammonia since the start up dose. Since the value has not decreased at all.



Decided to try to test for nitrites just to see if their was any results and the Nitrites were 0 as expected.



I assume I am going just fine, just need a bit of time for the BB to grow and some reassurance that it is normal to (not) have to dose in 4 days.



Temperature has been set at 81.1 F. Thanks all.
AquariumE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-29-2016, 09:46 AM
 
FishFlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,063
Thanks: 30
Thanked 223 Times in 201 Posts
Welcomes: 34
Welcomed 19 Times in 1 Post
Re: First time trying Fishless cycling

Excellent.

What size tank?
FishFlow is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-29-2016, 09:49 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 19
Thanks: 13
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 6 Times in 1 Post
Re: First time trying Fishless cycling

Quote:
Originally Posted by FishFlow View Post
Excellent.

What size tank?
55 gallon.
AquariumE is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-29-2016, 10:02 AM
 
FishFlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,063
Thanks: 30
Thanked 223 Times in 201 Posts
Welcomes: 34
Welcomed 19 Times in 1 Post
Re: First time trying Fishless cycling

Is anything else in the tank? How much water movement do you have? What type of filter?
FishFlow is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-29-2016, 12:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 19
Thanks: 13
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 6 Times in 1 Post
Re: First time trying Fishless cycling

Quote:
Originally Posted by FishFlow View Post
Is anything else in the tank? How much water movement do you have? What type of filter?
Sand substrate, decorations, and normal tank setups heater, filters.

Filters are Aqueon 55/75 Hang on filter and size 4 ATI sponge filter.Slight mods to the Hang on as far as bio media goes. Some plastic pot scrubbies, egg crating etc.. For more mechanical and biological filtration.

Water movement seems to be working well with the hang on, on left side of tank and sponge on the other. Running the sponge with a air stone.

Last edited by AquariumE; 03-29-2016 at 03:43 PM.
AquariumE is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-30-2016, 10:22 PM
Suffers from TMT syndrome
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 349
Thanks: 176
Thanked 61 Times in 57 Posts
Welcomes: 350
Welcomed 11 Times in 1 Post
Re: First time trying Fishless cycling

I would dose with Prime once or twice to put the BB in there to grow. Getting it to magically appear on its own was always a problem I had...
welok is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-08-2016, 10:57 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 19
Thanks: 13
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 6 Times in 1 Post
Re: First time trying Fishless cycling

Update as of today. Ammonia still unchanged from initial dose to 3 ppm Ammonia. Nitrites 0.50. High range ph is 7.4 and ph is- called it 7.7 since 7.6 is the what API test kits have as everyone knows. I tested the high range due to this reason. A 30% water change was done 6 days ago. With no water test change.
AquariumE is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-08-2016, 12:07 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 19
Thanks: 13
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 6 Times in 1 Post
Re: First time trying Fishless cycling

New update, contacted Dr. Tim's Aquatics. Their not sure what's going on. Guess a problem with the inconsistencies of commercial ammonia products as in my case I'm using Austin's clear ammonia. From what I gather it's supposed to be a 2% but still unsure if that's really what it is. Anyway, they are sending me a new bottle of one and only as a booster dose of the bacteria. So I guess add that and continue my testing. IDK. Thought I would try this product. Not sure if I will use in the future or not. However I will say that I did like the fact that customer service did their job and made things go in a positive direction. May say that if you do try this product to order their ammonia and use it. Not sure if this is what's stalking me or what.

Suggestions? Comments? Thanks all for your help so far. Not bashing this company by any means, their great with a good product just a hitch in using it. I'd say use their ammonia and you would be fine. I already bought the ammonia in my case and figured I would try the bacteria in a bottle this time. Thanks again all.
AquariumE is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-10-2016, 07:40 PM
 
FishFlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,063
Thanks: 30
Thanked 223 Times in 201 Posts
Welcomes: 34
Welcomed 19 Times in 1 Post
% ammonia shouldn't matter if you've measured 3ppm in the tank with the api test kit.

Did u do anything to the tank after u added ammonia to 3ppm??
FishFlow is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-11-2016, 08:29 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 19
Thanks: 13
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 6 Times in 1 Post
Re: First time trying Fishless cycling

Quote:
Originally Posted by FishFlow View Post
% ammonia shouldn't matter if you've measured 3ppm in the tank with the api test kit.

Did u do anything to the tank after u added ammonia to 3ppm??
No. Have done nothing but the above things. Dosed to 3ppm when I set it up. Did do a water change 30 % 8 days ago. This Friday it will be 3 weeks from start up. Dr. Tims sent me another bottle of one and only and I did dose that tonight.

I did test the water prior to dosing with the bacteria and results were same as they have been. 3 ppm ammonia and 0.50 nitrite. So we will see what the next few days do. So have not given ammonia dose since the initial set up to 3 ppm.

Now just wait it out.
AquariumE is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-16-2016, 01:02 PM
Fish lover
 
BabyGirl77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bremerton
Posts: 404
Thanks: 14
Thanked 66 Times in 57 Posts
Welcomes: 7
Welcomed 16 Times in 2 Posts
A tank takes 6-8 weeks to fully cycle. So be patient. You cannot cycle a tank in less time. You may see results in like three weeks, but the tank takes 6-8 weeks to fully cycle. As for bacteria in a bottle, get TetraSafeStart, it is one of the few that actually has live bacteria in it and that will jump start your cycle.
BabyGirl77 is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-18-2016, 09:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 19
Thanks: 13
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 6 Times in 1 Post
Re: First time trying Fishless cycling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Moon View Post
A tank takes 6-8 weeks to fully cycle. So be patient. You cannot cycle a tank in less time. You may see results in like three weeks, but the tank takes 6-8 weeks to fully cycle. As for bacteria in a bottle, get TetraSafeStart, it is one of the few that actually has live bacteria in it and that will jump start your cycle.
Thanks, day 25 as of tonight. Rusults finally starting to change as of tonight. Ammonia went down to 1.0ppm and nitrite went to 1.0ppm. So starting to get somewhere. Thanks for the help so far everyone.
AquariumE is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 19
Thanks: 13
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 6 Times in 1 Post
Re: First time trying Fishless cycling

Day 49. Seems stalled or something. Things just don't seem to be progressing. 2.0 ammonia and 1.0 nitrite. Been this for a while now. Only had a drop to 0.50 ammonia once during the cycle so far and at that point added ammonia to the level I am at currently. Which is 2.0 ammonia. Not sure if I'm stalled or what's going on. Starting to get quite discouraged.
AquariumE is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-14-2016, 01:11 PM
 
Fishtail76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: McKinleyville, Ca
Posts: 205
Thanks: 125
Thanked 94 Times in 76 Posts
Welcomes: 282
Welcomed 13 Times in 1 Post
Re: First time trying Fishless cycling

Have you been dosing with ammonia every four days? If not the bb have to have a new source of ammonia in order to increase the colony, you can't just start with 3ppm and leave it. I did not use Dr. Tim's and don't know what the instructions say but you need a continued source of ammonia for the bb colony to grow.

I cycled my 55g in less than three weeks following the instructions from our forums. The Fishless Cycle

I wish you luck and have patience, some tanks take longer than others for some reason.
Fishtail76 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Aquarium Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome