Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate? - Aquarium Forum
Freshwater Plants, Freshwater Planted Tanks Do you grow freshwater plants in your aquarium? This is the forum for you! Freshwater plant species, freshwater plant lights, freshwater plant water additives, chemistry, and plant nutrition. This forum is also a place to discuss plant-safe fish, CO2 dosing, nutrients, fertilizer, substrates, and other topics of interest to those keeping planted aquariums.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 01:07 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,858
Welcomes: 3,078
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks: 479
Thanked 744 Times in 679 Posts
Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate?

When I was at the garden center recently I saw large bags of clay balls for growing orchids and other plants using Hydroponics. It seemed like they might work as aquarium substrate or at least part of it. Has anyone else come across or tried using these?
snail is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 01:21 PM
What do fish think about?
 
Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East Bremerton, Washington
Posts: 3,554
Welcomes: 519
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks: 759
Thanked 1,320 Times in 1,112 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo
Re: Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate?

I have never even heard of them, but you could run some tests by putting some in a bowl with water and testing the water after a few days. I suspect that they might have chemical additives that promote plant growth, but whether those additives are harmful to fish is a risk that might not be worth taking, in my opinion.

ClearForLife 10G Acrylic, 6 HET rasboras, ~80 RCS, 3 otos, various snails. Ludwigia repens, various moss. Eheim 2211 Canister, 50W heater, Finnex FugeRay Planted+ 17W LED.

"Give me your penchant and I shall grant you deliverance." - Falcor
Gizmo is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 04:48 PM
....has no life....
 
jrman83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: White Plains, MD
Posts: 12,629
Welcomes: 5,131
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks: 746
Thanked 4,635 Times in 3,785 Posts
Re: Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate?

Chunks of clay is commonly used in the bottom of planted tanks. More underneath than part of the substrate. The pro select stuff mentioned on here a lot is just clay, as is the safe-t sorb.
jrman83 is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 05:25 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,858
Welcomes: 3,078
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks: 479
Thanked 744 Times in 679 Posts
Re: Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate?

They look like this:
Hydroton Clay Pellets > Hydroton Growing Media - 5 Liter Bag - 6 pounds
But the ones I saw were less expensive
snail is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 09:19 AM
What do fish think about?
 
Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East Bremerton, Washington
Posts: 3,554
Welcomes: 519
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks: 759
Thanked 1,320 Times in 1,112 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo
Re: Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate?

Check what kind of chemical additives (if any) they add to the clay.

ClearForLife 10G Acrylic, 6 HET rasboras, ~80 RCS, 3 otos, various snails. Ludwigia repens, various moss. Eheim 2211 Canister, 50W heater, Finnex FugeRay Planted+ 17W LED.

"Give me your penchant and I shall grant you deliverance." - Falcor
Gizmo is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-29-2010, 12:53 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,858
Welcomes: 3,078
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks: 479
Thanked 744 Times in 679 Posts
Re: Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate?

I don't think they have any, the ferts etc get added to the water.
snail is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-29-2010, 10:15 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,683
Welcomes: 370
Welcomed 12 Times in 1 Post
Thanks: 34
Thanked 923 Times in 843 Posts
Re: Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate?

One thing to consider is the a 6 pound bag of that stuff is $26 or so.

a 50 pound bag of pc select was $8 a year ago.
beaslbob is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-30-2010, 03:26 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,858
Welcomes: 3,078
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks: 479
Thanked 744 Times in 679 Posts
Re: Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate?

The price I saw it at was much cheaper than that. I've never seen pc select here, does it have any nutritional value for the plants like the iron content or is it just pretty?
snail is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-30-2010, 09:40 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,683
Welcomes: 370
Welcomed 12 Times in 1 Post
Thanks: 34
Thanked 923 Times in 843 Posts
Re: Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate?

From the pro choice manufacturer after soilmaster select was discontunied:

Quote:
Originally Posted by pro choice manufacturer
Hi Bob,

Soilmaster Select and Pro's Choice Select is the same product, we just dropped the Soilmaster off the name.

I've attached information about the Select Charcoal and Select (red color). It's the same mineral, but the red Select has been cooked longer, which makes the particles hard and harder to break down. Good for aerating the soil, or high impact areas. If you're interested in purchasing the regular Pro's Choice Select, not the Charcoal since its been discontinued I can refer you to our distributor in AL:

...
local source
...

Most aquarium owners preferred Select Charcoal because of its color. Since this product has been discontinued, the next closest thing is Turface's Pro League Gray. Turface's clay mine is just a few miles away from ours, so they're starting with a similar if not the same clay. Their sales people would be able to tell you more about how its processed though.

Thanks, and for your compliment too.

Paula
Quote:
Originally Posted by msds pro choice select from manufacturere
Chemical Description: Si O2 74%
Al2 O3 11%
Fe2 O3 5%
All other chemicals equal less than 5% and include traces
CaO, MgO,K2O,Na2O,and TiO2
(both posted aug 10 2008 another forum)

The also gave me a local source which was a landscaping firm that did golf courses and so on. The firm had to order it and I got 4 50 pound bags for $8 per bag.

So I guess it does have some iron in it but that can be dosed very inexpensively. like $5 for a 10 year supply or so.

Looks like no added nutrients. So any nutrient type action in my tanks must come from the peat moss (no much) or organics in the play sand.



my .02
beaslbob is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-30-2010, 10:43 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,858
Welcomes: 3,078
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks: 479
Thanked 744 Times in 679 Posts
Re: Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate?

I just ask because for example in mineralized top soil you are supposed to add some clay. I guess it's a question of if the plants are able to access the iron, minerals etc that are locked in the stuff. Other than looks do you notice any difference between pro choice and plain gravel?
snail is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-30-2010, 10:56 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,683
Welcomes: 370
Welcomed 12 Times in 1 Post
Thanks: 34
Thanked 923 Times in 843 Posts
Re: Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by snail View Post
I just ask because for example in mineralized top soil you are supposed to add some clay. I guess it's a question of if the plants are able to access the iron, minerals etc that are locked in the stuff. Other than looks do you notice any difference between pro choice and plain gravel?
no.

I did test soilmaster select (and peat moss) in a test 1g jar and it did have an ability to "cloud" the water. It required I kill the lights for a week to clear up.
beaslbob is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-30-2010, 02:34 PM
....has no life....
 
jrman83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: White Plains, MD
Posts: 12,629
Welcomes: 5,131
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks: 746
Thanked 4,635 Times in 3,785 Posts
Re: Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate?

How does light affect particles in the water? Isn't it just loose particles from the initial intro to the tank?
jrman83 is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-30-2010, 02:46 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,683
Welcomes: 370
Welcomed 12 Times in 1 Post
Thanks: 34
Thanked 923 Times in 843 Posts
Re: Hydroponic clay pellets as aquarium substrate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrman83 View Post
How does light affect particles in the water? Isn't it just loose particles from the initial intro to the tank?
perhaps.

But in my experience with most normal aquarium things, cloudiness is actually kinda like a "smog" in the air. Where light reacts with things like phosphates in the water causing cyano or algae to cloud the water.

By killing the lights those die off and the water clears.

Plus any fish kinda go to "sleep" so don't stir thing up as much.

The result is the "crud" 1) dies off, or 2) settles to the bottom

And the water clears.


my .02
beaslbob is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Aquarium Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome