Do I need ferts or no? - Aquarium Forum
Freshwater Plants, Freshwater Planted Tanks Do you grow freshwater plants in your aquarium? This is the forum for you! Freshwater plant species, freshwater plant lights, freshwater plant water additives, chemistry, and plant nutrition. This forum is also a place to discuss plant-safe fish, CO2 dosing, nutrients, fertilizer, substrates, and other topics of interest to those keeping planted aquariums.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-26-2011, 11:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 17 Times in 1 Post
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Do I need ferts or no?

I'm trying to stay very low tech but want nice plants, of course. I'm just not sure if my bettaautolinker.com autolinking image and 2 ghost shrimp will make enough nutrients for the plants. I currently have 3 aponogeton and 5 wisteria. None are fully grown and I just added the wisteria today. I got the aponogeton as a bulb and it's done great so far. I also have a marimo that just split so it's no longer huge. That's actually why I decided to add plants today because I put one half in the kids tank and I thought maybe it would be ok to add more plants but now I'm second guessing. I have smooth glass stones for substrate and 2 15w lights.

So my 2 main questions, but feel free to give your 2 cents on any topic, are

1. Do I need to add liquid ferts? If so what kind is best?

2. Can I use a little water from my other 10 gallon community tank as a fert? It's a nice "earthy" tank. Even with a 20% water change every other day, it still smells, well, earthy. It probably has everything the plants need. It's healthy, no new additions in over 4 months, and never a death of any species.
Zookeeper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-26-2011, 11:16 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 47
Welcomes: 1
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Do I need ferts or no?

i would have to say no...you dont NEEED ferts but if you want your plants to be stronger, faster, and better then i would use the recommended amount. i use seachem flourish myself and i dose every water change which is about once every other week and my plants do fine. lately i havent been dosing at all and my plants still are doing great =) i also use seachems root tabs...pretty much anything from seachem is pretty good!!

as for using other tank water as fert....i personally wouldnt b/c the hassle isnt worth the little amount of nutrient your plants will be getting. imo
i4yue is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-26-2011, 11:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 17 Times in 1 Post
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Re: Do I need ferts or no?

It's really not a hassle at all. With my gravel vacuum and jugs moving water is easy. If it would give it a little boost, that is all I'm looking for.
Zookeeper is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-26-2011, 11:30 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Re: Do I need ferts or no?

Fetts are needed in some cases but it just really depends on you. You don't have to add something that your not so sure about!

Visit my blog below and learn about the mistakes you must avoid when making your first aquarium.

http://www.how-to-take-care-of-an-aquarium.blogspot.com
Justonce94 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-27-2011, 05:02 AM
....has no life....
 
jrman83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: White Plains, MD
Posts: 12,629
Welcomes: 5,131
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks: 746
Thanked 4,635 Times in 3,785 Posts
Re: Do I need ferts or no?

Depends more on your plants. If they are doing well, I'd say no. If they start to suffer a little, I'd say get something like FLourish or Leaf Zone and use that. Don't try using water as a fert. Most of the stuff needed is in the gravel anyway.
jrman83 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-27-2011, 06:09 AM
 
James0816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,608
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 10 Times in 1 Post
Thanks: 35
Thanked 580 Times in 499 Posts
Re: Do I need ferts or no?

It never hurts to add them. Of the plants you list, the Apons will need them more.
James0816 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-27-2011, 12:18 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 837
Welcomes: 118
Welcomed 38 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks: 11
Thanked 358 Times in 327 Posts
Re: Do I need ferts or no?

Hello Zoo. I have several low tech tanks and have found that plants in low light conditions and no CO2 need a little help to grow well. So, I've always used a good liquid fert for the standard nutrients and another for a source of carbon. I like Yamato Green and currently use a little Flourish Excel.

I mix the two in a pitcher of my water change water and dose when the tanks need to be topped off due to evaporation, typically two to three times per week.

Just one reporter's opinion.

BBradbury
BBradbury is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-27-2011, 07:46 PM
 
Suenell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the woods in AR.
Posts: 51
Welcomes: 9
Welcomed 16 Times in 1 Post
Thanks: 122
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Re: Do I need ferts or no?

Don't know about your gravel, if it will provide enough contact for your roots. You should have something finer at the bottom if you have smooth stones - I'd think they're too big. What I do for fertilize is freeze some Osmocote in an ice tray then slide them under the plants here & there.

~*~ Our faith should not stand in the wisdom of men, but in the power of God ~*~
Suenell is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-28-2011, 12:05 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25
Welcomes: 0
Welcomed 17 Times in 1 Post
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Re: Do I need ferts or no?

Can I just put the root tab things under the roots? The apon is growing really well but I just added the wisteria Tuesday. It's all nice and green at the moment but I by no means have a green thumb out of water lol. I don't really want to spend $16 for a handful of the soil and I have no clue what osmocote is but I will go google.

My hood can hold lights up to two 25w but currently have the 15w. Is the 2w per gallon a good rule or should I get some higher wattage bulbs?

Thank you all for being so nice. I'm new to this whole planted tank thing and it's a little intimidating :/
Zookeeper is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-28-2011, 04:32 PM
....has no life....
 
jrman83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: White Plains, MD
Posts: 12,629
Welcomes: 5,131
Welcomed 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks: 746
Thanked 4,635 Times in 3,785 Posts
Re: Do I need ferts or no?

You won't need root tabs for Wisteria.
jrman83 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Aquarium Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome