Do I need ferts or no? - Aquarium Forum
Aquarium Forum
Advertise
Freshwater Plants, Freshwater Planted Tanks Do you grow freshwater plants in your aquarium? This is the forum for you! Freshwater plant species, freshwater plant lights, freshwater plant water additives, chemistry, and plant nutrition. This forum is also a place to discuss plant-safe fish, CO2 dosing, nutrients, fertilizer, substrates, and other topics of interest to those keeping planted aquariums.

Go Back   Aquarium Forum General Freshwater Aquarium Topics Freshwater Plants, Freshwater Planted Tanks

Forgot Password?
Connect with Facebook

Welcome to the Aquarium Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast and simple so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.
Connect with Facebook
OR

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2011, 11:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 7 Times
Was Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Do I need ferts or no?

I'm trying to stay very low tech but want nice plants, of course. I'm just not sure if my bettaautolinker.com autolinking image and 2 ghost shrimp will make enough nutrients for the plants. I currently have 3 aponogeton and 5 wisteria. None are fully grown and I just added the wisteria today. I got the aponogeton as a bulb and it's done great so far. I also have a marimo that just split so it's no longer huge. That's actually why I decided to add plants today because I put one half in the kids tank and I thought maybe it would be ok to add more plants but now I'm second guessing. I have smooth glass stones for substrate and 2 15w lights.

So my 2 main questions, but feel free to give your 2 cents on any topic, are

1. Do I need to add liquid ferts? If so what kind is best?

2. Can I use a little water from my other 10 gallon community tank as a fert? It's a nice "earthy" tank. Even with a 20% water change every other day, it still smells, well, earthy. It probably has everything the plants need. It's healthy, no new additions in over 4 months, and never a death of any species.
Zookeeper is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To Zookeeper

Join AquariumForum.com Today - It's Free!

Are you an aquarium enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

AquariumForum.com is owned and operated by fellow lifelong aquarium enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join AquariumForum.com Today! - Click Here


Sponsors

Old 04-26-2011, 11:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 47
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 0 Times
Was Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Do I need ferts or no?

i would have to say no...you dont NEEED ferts but if you want your plants to be stronger, faster, and better then i would use the recommended amount. i use seachem flourish myself and i dose every water change which is about once every other week and my plants do fine. lately i havent been dosing at all and my plants still are doing great =) i also use seachems root tabs...pretty much anything from seachem is pretty good!!

as for using other tank water as fert....i personally wouldnt b/c the hassle isnt worth the little amount of nutrient your plants will be getting. imo
i4yue is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To i4yue
Old 04-26-2011, 11:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 7 Times
Was Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: Do I need ferts or no?

It's really not a hassle at all. With my gravel vacuum and jugs moving water is easy. If it would give it a little boost, that is all I'm looking for.
Zookeeper is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To Zookeeper
Old 04-26-2011, 11:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 0 Times
Was Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default Re: Do I need ferts or no?

Fetts are needed in some cases but it just really depends on you. You don't have to add something that your not so sure about!
__________________
Visit my blog below and learn about the mistakes you must avoid when making your first aquarium.

http://www.how-to-take-care-of-an-aquarium.blogspot.com
Justonce94 is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To Justonce94
Old 04-27-2011, 05:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
....has no life....
Super Moderator
jrman83's Avatar
Welcome Wagon Aquarium Forum Tank Of The Month Winner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12,418
Name: Ben
Location: White Plains, MD
Feedback: 16 / 100%
Said "Welcome to Aquarium Forum" 5,089 Times
Said "Thanks" 713 Times
Was Thanked 4,434 Times in 3,663 Posts
Default Re: Do I need ferts or no?

Depends more on your plants. If they are doing well, I'd say no. If they start to suffer a little, I'd say get something like FLourish or Leaf Zone and use that. Don't try using water as a fert. Most of the stuff needed is in the gravel anyway.
jrman83 is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To jrman83
Sponsors

Old 04-27-2011, 06:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
James0816's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,608
Feedback: 14 / 100%
Said "Thanks" 35 Times
Was Thanked 580 Times in 499 Posts
Default Re: Do I need ferts or no?

It never hurts to add them. Of the plants you list, the Apons will need them more.
James0816 is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To James0816
Old 04-27-2011, 12:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Welcome Wagon
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 799
Name: BBradbury
Location: Greeley, CO
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Welcome to Aquarium Forum" 116 Times
Said "Thanks" 9 Times
Was Thanked 332 Times in 308 Posts
Default Re: Do I need ferts or no?

Hello Zoo. I have several low tech tanks and have found that plants in low light conditions and no CO2 need a little help to grow well. So, I've always used a good liquid fert for the standard nutrients and another for a source of carbon. I like Yamato Green and currently use a little Flourish Excel.

I mix the two in a pitcher of my water change water and dose when the tanks need to be topped off due to evaporation, typically two to three times per week.

Just one reporter's opinion.

BBradbury
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To BBradbury
Old 04-27-2011, 07:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Suenell's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 51
Name: Suenell
Location: In the woods in AR.
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 122 Times
Was Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Suenell Send a message via Yahoo to Suenell
Default Re: Do I need ferts or no?

Don't know about your gravel, if it will provide enough contact for your roots. You should have something finer at the bottom if you have smooth stones - I'd think they're too big. What I do for fertilize is freeze some Osmocote in an ice tray then slide them under the plants here & there.
__________________
~*~ Our faith should not stand in the wisdom of men, but in the power of God ~*~
Suenell is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To Suenell
Old 04-28-2011, 12:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 7 Times
Was Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: Do I need ferts or no?

Can I just put the root tab things under the roots? The apon is growing really well but I just added the wisteria Tuesday. It's all nice and green at the moment but I by no means have a green thumb out of water lol. I don't really want to spend $16 for a handful of the soil and I have no clue what osmocote is but I will go google.

My hood can hold lights up to two 25w but currently have the 15w. Is the 2w per gallon a good rule or should I get some higher wattage bulbs?

Thank you all for being so nice. I'm new to this whole planted tank thing and it's a little intimidating :/
Zookeeper is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To Zookeeper
Old 04-28-2011, 04:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
....has no life....
Super Moderator
jrman83's Avatar
Welcome Wagon Aquarium Forum Tank Of The Month Winner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12,418
Name: Ben
Location: White Plains, MD
Feedback: 16 / 100%
Said "Welcome to Aquarium Forum" 5,089 Times
Said "Thanks" 713 Times
Was Thanked 4,434 Times in 3,663 Posts
Default Re: Do I need ferts or no?

You won't need root tabs for Wisteria.
jrman83 is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To jrman83
Reply

Previous Thread: Fluorescent Bulbs
Next Thread: atomic CO2 Diffuser


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.



Fish Topsites
Follow us on Twitter!
Alltop, confirmation that we kick ass

All content Copyright AquariumForum.com & the respective author. All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer: We are not responsible for the content of any post or thread. This is a public forum and the content posted does not reflect the opinions of nor are endorsed by AquariumForum.com nor any of our employees.