Can I move my plants? - Aquarium Forum
Aquarium Forum
Advertise
Freshwater Plants, Freshwater Planted Tanks Do you grow freshwater plants in your aquarium? This is the forum for you! Freshwater plant species, freshwater plant lights, freshwater plant water additives, chemistry, and plant nutrition. This forum is also a place to discuss plant-safe fish, CO2 dosing, nutrients, fertilizer, substrates, and other topics of interest to those keeping planted aquariums.

Go Back   Aquarium Forum General Freshwater Aquarium Topics Freshwater Plants, Freshwater Planted Tanks

Forgot Password?
Connect with Facebook

Welcome to the Aquarium Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast and simple so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.
Connect with Facebook
OR

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2013, 04:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 4 Times
Was Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Can I move my plants?

I really want to rearrange my aquascape... Is that alright? or will I kill the plants?
EbonyRaven is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To EbonyRaven

Join AquariumForum.com Today - It's Free!

Are you an aquarium enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

AquariumForum.com is owned and operated by fellow lifelong aquarium enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join AquariumForum.com Today! - Click Here


Sponsors

Old 04-09-2013, 04:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,412
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Welcome to Aquarium Forum" 386 Times
Said "Thanks" 263 Times
Was Thanked 322 Times in 308 Posts
Default Re: Can I move my plants?

I have moved mine once and thay did fine.be careful when you pull them out slow and get all the roots with it.
rtmaston is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To rtmaston
Old 04-09-2013, 05:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
brads's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 11
Location: Spokane, WA
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 3 Times
Was Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Can I move my plants?

Yup
__________________
125g, 4 Goldy's,Tin Foil Barb, Sunburst & Black Platy's, Oto Algie eaters, Corydoras

10g Hospital/Plant Tank
brads is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To brads
Old 04-09-2013, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 4 Times
Was Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: Can I move my plants?

ALRIGHT. So, I did! Thank you guys. Now I have SO MANY EXTRA PLANTS. I just let mine continue growing, never cut them. I had one plant (no idea the name) that had grown so long it could touch the floor and still stretch up to my hips! I also have over a pound of Riccia that I need to throw into the goldfishautolinker.com autolinking image tank and I had a strand of java moss I forgot about! The tank needed that so much lol
EbonyRaven is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To EbonyRaven
Old 04-10-2013, 01:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Algae Farmer
WheeledGoat's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 121
Location: Chicago, IL
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Thanks" 50 Times
Was Thanked 64 Times in 42 Posts
Default Re: Can I move my plants?

I enjoy moving my stuff around quite a bit, maybe twice a month - so I've taken care to try and select plants that are OK with that and don't have huge root systems. (I just have regular ole gravel for a subtrate.)

I do have a crypt, though, and it is of course subject to crypt melt and is kinda sensitive - so I try to move it the least. When it does need to relocate, I just get it loosened from the substrate and let it float around in the tank (I usually remove my other plants entirely and put them in a bucket with some tank water while I monkey around with the aquascape).

I keep my hairgrass in small bunches with twist ties around the roots, just tight enough to hold 'em together. And the dwarf baby tears I attached to a small piece of driftwood, instead of planting them in the substrate. I've seen others attach stuff to lava rocks, which seems like a great idea - roots prob have an easy time grabbing such porous rock. I'll likely try that next.
WheeledGoat is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To WheeledGoat
Sponsors

Old 04-10-2013, 05:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,412
Feedback: 0 / 0%
Said "Welcome to Aquarium Forum" 386 Times
Said "Thanks" 263 Times
Was Thanked 322 Times in 308 Posts
Default Re: Can I move my plants?

I like a difference look every now and then.
rtmaston is offline   Reply With Quote Send A Private Message To rtmaston
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.



Fish Topsites
Follow us on Twitter!
Alltop, confirmation that we kick ass

All content Copyright AquariumForum.com & the respective author. All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer: We are not responsible for the content of any post or thread. This is a public forum and the content posted does not reflect the opinions of nor are endorsed by AquariumForum.com nor any of our employees.