Aquarium Forum banner

Live plants in normal gravel?

46K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  beaslbob 
#1 ·
Hey, real quick question. I've got a 20 gallon FW tropical community aquarium that I'd like to have real plants in, but I'm a newbie at the whole "planted tank" thing. Are there any plants that can work with the standard aquarium gravel or do I have to change out to a different substrate? Sorry if this is a dumb question, I've asked around and gotten many different answers. Thanks in advance!

#2 ·
Don't worry, it's not a dumb question!

There are plenty of plants that grow just fine in plain old gravel, if you take care of them. That means ferts if they need them, and the right kind of lighting. I'm lazy when it comes to ferts, so I really like root tabs. Just bury them under at least an inch of gravel, and they'll fertilize your plants for 1-2 months. Some plants might need extra ferts, or a different kind (liquid) but for the most part, take care of ferts and lighting, and plants are a breeze to grow.

Most plants will grow in gravel, so here's just a short list of some:
swords plants (most of them at least)
anubias*
java fern*
mosses*
wisteria
hornwort
crypts
duckweed*
various stem plants
dwarf lillies
hygros

*do not necessarily require substrate at all, either floats or is usually ties to driftwood or rocks, do not plant rhizome under substrate

Reactions: 96projectz24
#5 ·
well make sure their REAL aquatic plants and not the plants that are in tubes that say snail free.i learned that the hard way.they made my ammonia sky and a snail tagged along because i guess i didnt wash it good enough off the roots.

#6 ·